Van Gisbergen reflects on winning Jason Richards Trophy

Shane van Gisbergen receives the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy

Shane van Gisbergen has described winning the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy as a ‘special’ achievement.

Van Gisbergen won back the commemorative trophy by scooping the greatest points haul at the ITM Auckland SuperSprint, with a win and second placing at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

He was presented the trophy by Jason Richards’ father, David, and joined on the rostrum for the podium photographs by Richards’ daughters, Olivia and Sienna.

“Obviously it’s pretty, pretty special, especially having Jase’s daughters up there,” said van Gisbergen.

“It was a hard moment but a special one and as I said (on Saturday), seeing his parents every morning has been pretty cool, then Charlotte (widow) and the kids today; it was pretty awesome.”

This year’s Pukekohe Supercars event is the second time that van Gisbergen has won the trophy commissioned in memory of his late fellow Kiwi, having also done so in 2016.

The tally matches that of fellow Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver Jamie Whincup, who shared a podium with Richards at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 during his year at Tasman Motorsport in 2005.

Whincup was also a strong chance of winning the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy for a third time in five years given that he took up the initial lead in Sunday’s Race 24 before the controversial Safety Car.

“Obviously sad for our team as well; Jamie was on for a good result and not sure what happened there, but (I have) won the JR before and it’s pretty, pretty special to do it again and then keep it in the hands of the New Zealanders is awesome as well.

“It’s awesome to race in his memory every year and seeing the mock-up of his car parked there every morning you walk into the paddock, it’s a cool feeling.”

With Scott McLaughlin having unofficially won the event last year, the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy has now been won by his compatriots or former team-mates in six of the seven Pukekohe race weekends since its inception.

Jason Richards Memorial Trophy winners

Year Driver Team
2013 Jason Bright Brad Jones Racing
2014 Mark Winterbottom Tickford Racing
2015 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering
2016 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Race Engineering
2017 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering
2018 Scott McLaughlin DJR Team Penske
2019 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Race Engineering

Richards’ daughters on the podium with van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin, and Chaz Mostert

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]