Berryman becomes 10th driver on S5000 grid

Tim Berryman

Tim Berryman has become the 10th driver named on the grid for S5000’s debut round at Sandown this weekend.

Berryman will join a three-car BRM squad alongside Rubens Barrichello and Alex Davison.

The 42-year-old won the Radical Australia Cup in 2014 and has competed in a range of wings and slicks machinery.

Most recently Berryman has campaigned a Lola Formula 5000 in historic racing.

“I’m over the moon to be involved in the first event at Sandown,” he said.

“I’ll be in the same garage and the same team as Rubens Barrichello, so it will a real ‘pinch yourself’ moment.

“I don’t really have any expectations for results,” he added.

“I just want to learn the car as quickly as I can.

“I have not driven it yet, but I think I will get my head around it quickly, hopefully have a clean weekend and be in the mix.”

Alongside team-mates Barrichello and Davison, Berryman joins previously announced racers Matthew Brabham, Will Brown, John Martin, Tim Macrow, Tom Alexander, Michael Gibson, and Barton Mawer for the inaugural weekend.

The series last week announced a unique qualifying format that will see two practice sessions feed into a traditional qualifying session.

However, that session will be followed by two qualifying heats, which will determine the grid for Sunday’s race.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]