Radisich to drive NASCAR-powered Mustang in BNT V8s

Paul Radisich in the Mustang during the final round of the last BNT V8s season pic: Collins Motorsport Facebook

Paul Radisich will drive a NASCAR-engined Ford Mustang in the BNT V8s support races at this weekend’s ITM Auckland SuperSprint.

Radisich broke a long absence from car racing when he piloted the same car in the final round of the 2018/19 BNT V8s season last March.

Since then, however, the Mustang has had a Roush Yates FR9 NASCAR engine producing an estimated 800-900hp fitted, with work completed only in recent days (See below for video).

With this weekend’s racing being a non-championship round for BNT V8s, and therefore free of class restrictions, the Collins Mustang is not the only beastly machine in the 15-car field.

Former champion Simon Evans has returned in his modified Holden Commodore SuperTourer which now features over 750hp, paddle shift, traction control, and ABS.

Nick Ross’s new-look Altima pic: Concept Motorsport Facebook

Series regular Lance Hughes has cranked up his own Holden to 630hp, while his new Hamilton Motorsports team-mate, Chelsea Herbert, will be absent from Pukekohe and is instead on her way to the W Series selection trials in Spain.

Nick Ross’ Concept Motorsport Altima TLX has a new look, and there are SuperTourers formerly driven by Greg Murphy, Shane van Gisbergen, and Craig Baird, in the hands of Rob Wallace, John Midgley, and Brayden Phillips respectively.

The New Zealand Touring Cars field hits Pukekohe Park Raceway tomorrow for practice and qualifying, before a trio of 16-lap races across Saturday and Sunday.

Entry list: Non-championship round, Pukekohe Park Raceway

Num Driver Car
4 Simon Evans Holden Commodore SuperTourer
007 Nick Ross Nissan Altima TLX
8 Tim Edgell Holden Commodore SuperTourer
14 Nick Chester Holden Supercar
19 John Midgley Ford Falcon Supertourer
42 Matt Tubbs Holden Commodore TLX
43 Brayden Phillips Ford Falcon SuperTourer
51 Rob Wallace Holden Commodore SuperTourer
54 Darryl Clarke Ford Falcon TL
57 Eric Hennephof Holden Commodore SuperTourer
73 Brad Lathrope Ford Falcon SuperTourer
77 Paul Radisich Ford Mustang
84 Lance Hughes Holden Commodore
114 Shaun Varney BMW 318
171 Nigel Karl Ford Falcon TL

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]