D’Alberto, Whitley cop TCR Winton penalties 

Tom Howard

Sunday 1st September, 2019 - 12:23pm


Tony D’Alberto drops from fourth to sixth after a penalty

Stewards have issued penalties to Tony D’Alberto and Alexandra Whitley for separate incidents during TCR Australia Round 5 Race 1 at Winton Motor Raceway.

Wall Racing’s D’Alberto has been slapped with a five-second penalty demoting him from fourth to sixth in the results.

The Honda Civic driver was penalised for his part in contact with Nathan Morcom.

As a result, HMO Customer Racing’s Morcom has been classified in fourth position with Aaron Cameron (Melbourne Performance Centre, Volkswagen) in fifth.

Meanwhile, Whitley has copped a 30-second penalty for contact with Leanne Tander which sees the Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Golf driver drop from 12th to 13th in the results.

“I just completely out-braked myself and ran into the back of Leanne,” said Whitley.

“It was unfortunate for her, I really didn’t want to do that and sort of stuffed her race.

“Obviously we got a penalty. It’s a little bit disappointing because we know we could have been further up.”

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Jordan Cox also received a 10 series points penalty for an incident with Wall Racing’s John Martin at Turn 1 on lap 7.

Race 1 was taken out by Alliance Autosport’s Jason Bright.

The series continues this afternoon with a further two 17 lap races.

UPDATED: TCR Australia Race 1 Results

Pos Num Driver Team Car Laps Time
1    8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce / Alliance Autospor Volkswagon Golf GTI  16 23:06.9034
2   30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing           Hyundai i30N         16 23:07.8427
3    9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport      Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 23:15.0596
4   11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing           Hyundai i30N         16 23:20.0936
5    2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre  Volkswagen Golf GTI  16 23:20.1533
6   50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R   16 23:21.5374
7  777 Andre Heimgartner (NZ)  Kelly Racing                  Holden Astra         16 23:21.9711
8  100 Russell Ingall (Qld)    Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3            16 23:22.3507
9   38 Tim Brook (NSW)         Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R   16 23:26.9974
10  97 Liam McAdam (Qld)       Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3            16 23:39.1908
11   6 Molly Taylor (NSW)      Kelly Racing                  Subaru WRX STi       16 23:50.8315
12   3 Leanne Tander (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3            16 24:17.9154
13  35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Alliance Autosport            Volkswagon Golf GTI  16 24:30.1609
14  24 John Martin (NSW)       Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R   14 23:33.1349
15  37 Bryce Fullwood (NT)     Kelly Racing                  Subaru WRX STi       12 23:55.8469
16  62 Hamish Ribarits (Vic)   Kelly Racing                  Holden Astra         15 22:02.9527
17   7 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Garry Rogers Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta  6  8:54.4822
18  34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport       Renault Megane RS   
19  33 Chris Pither (NZ)       Garry Rogers Motorsport       Renault Megane RS comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!