Seton victorious in inaugural TCM night race at SMP

Saturday 31st August, 2019 - 10:43pm


Touring Car Masters night race at Sydney Motorsport Park

Aaron Seton has converted pole position into victory in the inaugural Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters night race at the Sydney MasterBlast at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Ford Mustang driver was challenged for the lead early on by a quick starting Ryal Harris (Chevrolet Camaro) in fourth, as the field converted to the shorter Druitt (North) Circuit for the special six-lap race.

Seton however was too strong for the field, setting a new lap record twice (1:06.5920) on his way to take the chequered flag 4.9058s ahead of Harris in second place.

Steve Johnson (Mustang) completed the podium after starting second alongside Seton at the start of the race.

Adam Bressington (Camaro) finished fourth ahead of Cameron Mason (Mustang) who rounded out the top five.

John Bowe was a notable absentee from the field after his Holden Torana SL broke a rocker on the opening lap of the stand-alone 10-minute qualifying session earlier in the evening.

Action resumes tomorrow with Race 15 of the series starting at 1015 AEST. comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!