Tickford confirms Randle enduro drive

Thomas Randle (right) will partner Lee Holdsworth for the Pirtek Enduro Cup

Tickford Racing has confirmed its Pirtek Enduro Cup line-up with Thomas Randle locked in to partner Lee Holdsworth.

Randle has long been expected to team up with Holdsworth in the #5 Bottle-O Racing entry having driven the car in Additional Driver practice sessions at Symmons Plains, Winton and The Bend Motorsport last weekend.

The team has now officially announced the 23-year-old as one of its enduro co-drivers following an impressive Supercars Championship debut in a a wildcard appearance for the Ford squad at the South Australian circuit.

Randle topped the Additional Driver practice before going on to finish inside the combined top 10 in Friday Practice.

The squad’s Super2 driver finished 17th in the two races.

Randle labelled the opportunity to race in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 as a ‘dream come true.’

“I’m extremely happy to join Tickford Racing and Lee for the Enduros this year,” said Randle.

“Having been around the world trying to forge a racing career, I came back to Australia with the goal of being a Supercars driver, so I’m very grateful to have the opportunity to race with Lee and The Bottle-O Racing Team at some of the biggest races in Australia.

“I remember growing up watching Bathurst with my dad, so to think I’ll be on the grid and competing in the ‘1000’ this year, with my family there with me is a dream come true.

“It’s a race I’ve always wanted to compete in, and to do it with a team like Tickford Racing is really exciting.

“It’s been a strong season for the team, being up the front again, so hopefully we can keep The Bottle-O Ford up there and have a crack.

“I really can’t wait to get out there and do my best for the team.”

Randle’s appointment completes a strong enduro line-up for Tickford that includes James Moffat (Chaz Mostert), Michael Caruso (Cam Waters) and Alex Davison (Will Davison).

Tickford co-owner Tim Edwards says he has been impressed by his Super2 recruit which has prompted the call to offer the young gun an enduro drive.

“Tom impressed us from the word ‘go’ last year, so we’re very excited to have him joining our main game team for the Enduro Cup,” said Edwards.

“Coming from a largely single seater background, he had a very steep learning curve, but he’s handled it extremely well.

“He’s been competitive from day one, and he’s only gotten better since, which is indicative of his talent and work ethic.

“We’ve had a lot of success with our Super2 program over the years, guys like Cam (Waters) and Chaz (Mostert) are evidence of that. This is the next step in Tom’s development and we’re looking forward to seeing him in The Bottle-O Mustang.”

The Pirtek Enduro Cup will begin with the Bathurst 1000 from October 10-13.

Entry list: Pirtek Enduro Cup

Num Team Primary driver Co-driver Car
2 Mobil 1 Mega Racing (WAU) Scott Pye Warren Luff Holden ZB Commodore
22 Mobil 1 Mega Racing (WAU) James Courtney Jack Perkins Holden ZB Commodore
27* Walkinshaw Andretti United James Hinchcliffe Alexander Rossi Holden ZB Commodore
3 Rabble.Club Racing (Kelly) Garry Jacobson Dean Fiore Nissan Altima L33
7 Plus Fitness Racing (Kelly) Andre Heimgartner Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima L33
15 Castrol Racing (Kelly) Rick Kelly Dale Wood Nissan Altima L33
78 Team Harvey Norman (Kelly) Simona De Silvestro Alex Rullo Nissan Altima L33
5 The Bottle-O Racing (Tickford) Lee Holdsworth Thomas Randle Ford Mustang
6 Monster Energy Racing (Tickford) Cameron Waters Michael Caruso Ford Mustang
23 Milwaukee Racing (Tickford/23Red) Will Davison Alex Davison Ford Mustang
55 Supercheap Auto Racing (Tickford) Chaz Mostert James Moffat Ford Mustang
8 Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat Tim Blanchard Holden ZB Commodore
14 Freightliner Racing (BJR) Tim Slade Ash Walsh Holden ZB Commodore
21 Team CoolDrive (BJR/TBR) Macauley Jones Dean Canto Holden ZB Commodore
9 Penrite Racing (Erebus) David Reynolds Luke Youlden Holden ZB Commodore
99 Penrite Racing (Erebus) Anton De Pasquale Will Brown Holden ZB Commodore
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team (DJRTP) Fabian Coulthard Tony D’Alberto Ford Mustang
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team (DJRTP) Scott McLaughlin Alexandre Premat Ford Mustang
18 Irwin Racing (Team 18) Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards Holden ZB Commodore
19 Truck Assist Tekno Racing Jack Le Brocq TBA (Jonathon Webb)** Holden ZB Commodore
33 Boost Mobile Racing (GRM) Richie Stanaway Chris Pither Holden ZB Commodore
34 Boost Mobile Racing (GRM) James Golding Richard Muscat Holden ZB Commodore
35 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Jack Smith Holden ZB Commodore
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team (Triple Eight) Shane van Gisbergen Garth Tander Holden ZB Commodore
888 Red Bull Holden Racing Team (Triple Eight) Jamie Whincup Craig Lowndes Holden ZB Commodore
TBA Kostecki Brothers Racing Brodie Kostecki Jake Kostecki Holden ZB Commodore

* Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 only
** Unconfirmed

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]