Dominant Love clean sweeps The Bend

Jordan Love leads David Wall

Jordan Love claimed a clean sweep of Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia Round 6 at The Bend with his third success from as many starts.

The Sonic Motorsport driver was never challenged throughout the 11 lap encounter, leading from lights to flag to take the race in dominant fashion.

He headed home David Wall (Wall Racing), who won a tussle with Cooper Murray (McElrea Racing), while Adrian Flack was fourth to be the lead Pro-Am class runner.

Love made a strong start to move into a clear lead before the field reached the opening corner, Wall slotting into second as he went door to door with Murray through the first sequence of corners.

Murray soon moved by at Turn 5, having hung it around the outside of Wall through Turn 3, taking the inside line through the high speed right hander to claim second place.

Wall fought back, eventually finding a way through midway through the 11-lap race.

Murray had been running at lap record pace but ran deep at Turn 13, allowing Wall to find his way back through.

The former champ then held on to the place despite intense pressure from Murray, the pair having no answer for Love ahead.

Victory was Love’s eighth success of 2019, The Bend weekend made even sweeter with confirmation that he’ll travel to Europe later in the year as Australia’s representative in the Porsche Junior shootout.

Dale Wood picked up his best result of the weekend in sixth while Sonic team-mate Michael Almond climbed to eighth having been forced out with radiator damage in the earlier race, and a recovering Cameron Hill (Cameron Hill Racing) got as high as 10th.

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia next heads to Mount Panorama as part of the Supercheap Bathurst 1000 weekend on October 10-13.

Results: Porsche Carrera Cup Australia, Race 3

Pos Num Driver Team Laps Time
1 777 Jordan Love (WA) Sonic / Bob Jane T-Marts/SRG 11 20:26.874
2 38 David Wall (NSW) PAYCE 11 20:33.417
3 36 Cooper Murray (VIC) Lodge Brothers 11 20:33.644
4 20 Adrian Flack (QLD) Agas National 11 20:39.898
5 34 Duvashen Padayachee NSW Hyundai Forklifts Australia 11 20:40.094
6 100 Dale Wood (VIC) Sonic/Polyflor 11 20:40.279
7 7 Warren Luff (QLD) MEGA/No Second Chance 11 20:40.831
8 77 Michael Almond (SA) Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Aus 11 20:41.902
9 8 Nick McBride (VIC) Porsche Centre Melbourne 11 20:44.700
10 111 Cameron Hill (ACT) Seears Workwear 11 20:46.680
11 27 Liam Talbot (NSW) Wash It 11 20:47.649
12 5 Thomas Maxwell (NT) Sonic 11 20:50.164
13 10 Brenton Grove (VIC) Grove Group 11 20:50.416
14 23 Roger Lago (QLD) Dayco / Lago Cold Stores 11 20:57.571
15 22 Dean Cook (VIC) BMF 11 20:57.874
16 12 Steve Richards (VIC) O’Brien Electrical & Plumbing 11 21:00.146
17 13 Sam Shahin (SA) The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU 11 21:07.593
18 6 Tim Miles (NSW) Garage 1 11 21:11.186
19 30 David Ryan (NSW) DRM Motorsport 11 21:23.627
20 9 Michael Loccisano (VIC) Hallmarc 11 21:30.418
21 4 Stephen Grove (VIC) Grove Group 11 21:30.721
22 35 Indiran Padayachee (NSW) Hyundai Forklifts Australia 11 21:35.690

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]