McLaughlin into 1:47s as van Gisbergen battles in Practice 3

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 24th August, 2019 - 11:21am


Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin has further lowered the practice record at The Bend as Shane van Gisbergen endured a torrid time in the third full-field session of the weekend.

McLaughlin, who also smashed the practice record the afternoon earlier, was more than three quarters of a second faster than the rest with a 1:47.9865s on used tyres in Practice 3, while Chaz Mostert and then Anton De Pasquale were next-best.

Van Gisbergen, on the other hand, ended up 20th having gone off four times in the #97 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore during the half-hour session.

The hit-out was barely underway when a red flag was called in the seventh minute due to debris brought onto the track by a Macauley Jones (#21 CoolDrive ZB Commodore) off at Turn 18.

By then, van Gisbergen had already run off twice, first at Turn 13 followed by a wild moment when he hit the kerb and picked up two wheels through the succession of right-handers.

McLaughlin clocked a 1:48.9311s on his first flyer after the red flag in the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang, taking top spot from Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang).

On his next run, the championship leader set a 1:48.4030s on P3 tyres, putting him almost nine tenths of a second ahead of his rivals at that point in time.

DJR Team Penske reportedly bolted another used set of tyres onto Car #17 for the final run, when McLaughlin became the first driver to lap The Bend Motorsport Park in a Supercar in the 1:47s bracket.

As expected, most of the fast laps came right at the end of the session, which ran in cloudy conditions throughout.

Mostert moved to a 1:48.7594s late on in the #55 Supercheap Auto Mustang, while De Pasquale (#99 Penrite ZB Commodore) was less than three hundredths slower again.

Waters and Lee Holdsworth (#5 The Bottle-O Mustang) made it three Tickford Racing entries in the top five, the former as the last driver within a second of McLaughlin’s fastest lap.

Rounding out the top 10 were Scott Pye (#2 Mobil 1 Mega ZB Commodore), Will Davison (#23 Milwaukee Mustang), Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore), James Courtney (#22 Walkinshaw Andretti United ZB Commodore), and Tim Slade (#14 Freightliner ZB Commodore).

Fabian Coulthard (#12 Mustang) was 15th at 1.4106s slower than his team-mate in the second of the DJRTP entries, one position ahead of Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds (#9 ZB Commodore).

Wildcards Thomas Randle (#66 Scandia Mustang) and Jack Smith (#4 SCT Logistics ZB Commodore) were 17th and 18th respectively.

Van Gisbergen had two more offs after the red flag, including a moment at Turn 5 when his car snapped sideways and the steering wheel whip appeared to hurt his left wrist.

The 2016 champion even quipped, “Yay! I did a lap,” when he finally logged a somewhat representative lap time as he took the chequered flag, despite still being 1.6753s slower than McLaughlin.

Team-mate Jamie Whincup (#88 ZB Commodore) was even further back, in 24th.

Armor All Qualifying for Race 21 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship starts at 1235 local time/1305 AEST.

One of Shane van Gisbergen’s many offs pic: Fox Sports

Results: Practice 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:47.9865  
2 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:48.7594 0:00.7729
3 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.7844 0:00.7979
4 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:48.9334 0:00.9469
5 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:48.9921 0:01.0056
6 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.9934 0:01.0069
7 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:49.1473 0:01.1608
8 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.1759 0:01.1894
9 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.2054 0:01.2189
10 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.2236 0:01.2371
11 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.2534 0:01.2669
12 35 Unit Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.2791 0:01.2926
13 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:49.3341 0:01.3476
14 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:49.3681 0:01.3816
15 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:49.3971 0:01.4106
16 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.4303 0:01.4438
17 66 Scandia Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:49.5894 0:01.6029
18 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6248 0:01.6383
19 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6496 0:01.6631
20 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6618 0:01.6753
21 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:49.6646 0:01.6781
22 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:49.7821 0:01.7956
23 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.9971 0:02.0106
24 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.0142 0:02.0277
25 8 X Convenience Mobil Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.1088 0:02.1223
26 33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.2410 0:02.2545 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!