SUPPORTS: Ribarits claims Super3 pole at The Bend

Hamish Ribarits

Super3 Series

MW Motorsport’s Hamish Ribarits has qualified on pole for Round 4 of the Kumho Tyre Super3 Series at The Bend by four tenths of a second.

The bulk of the fast running came during the opening runs, after which time series leader Broc Feeney had the ascendancy, from Ribarits, Zak Best, Jayden Ojeda, and Nic Carroll.

Of those, only Ribarits found improvement on his second run, gaining almost seven tenths of a second despite a slide off the final corner.

His 1:52.0532s in the #5 FG Falcon put him 0.4055s clear of Feeney, who will line up on the outside of the front row in the #67 Paul Morris Motorsport FG Falcon.

Best (#78 MWM FG Falcon) and Ojeda (#11 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) were each just over three quarters of a second slower than Ribarits, while Carroll (#48 MWM FG Falcon) was the last driver within a second of pole.

Jon McCorkindale (#69 Mac Motorsport FG Falcon) was sixth, with Brad Jones Racing’s Josh Fife first of the Holdens in seventh position in the #14 VEII Commodore.

The first two races of the weekend, each scheduled for eight laps, start tomorrow at 0855 and 1200 local time (0925 and 1230 AEST).

Justin Ruggier pic: Digital Realism

Aussie Racing Cars

Justin Ruggier became the first repeat pole-sitter of the Aussie Racing Cars season as less than a tenth of a second separated the top three in qualifying for Round 5.

South Australian and 2018 series winner Joel Heinrich was fastest early on with a 2:08.3857s, which was provisional pole until Luke Fraser clocked a 2:08.2450s.

Ruggier then laid down a 2:08.2216s in the final minute of the 20-minute session, but the series leader looked under threat when Kyle Honour went fastest to the second sector with the chequered flag out.

Honour, however, lost ground in the final sector and ended up third, splitting Fraser and Heinrich.

Series contender Kel Treseder was fifth, while Paul Morris was eighth.

The first two races of the weekend start tomorrow at 0925 and 1340 local time (0955 and 1410 AEST).

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]