Power beats Dixon in crash-marred Pocono race

Daniel Herrero

Monday 19th August, 2019 - 10:06am


Will Power

Will Power has done it the hard way as he passed Scott Dixon to win a Pocono IndyCar race which was again marred by early carnage.

Title combatants Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi shared the front row by virtue of entrant points after qualifying was washed out but it was Simon Pagenaud who took the early lead from third on the grid.

Newgarden (#2 Chevrolet) took up second and Power third, behind his two Team Penske team-mates, while Rossi was also passed by Dixon on the run to Turn 2 before his poor start became especially costly.

That was because Takuma Sato caused mayhem when he turned down on both the Andretti Autosport cars of Rossi, in the middle, and Ryan Hunter-Reay, who was looking to pass on the left.

As they sprayed across the track, Felix Rosenqvist (#10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) ended up grinding the top of the wall but came to rest upright, and James Hinchcliffe (#5 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda) was also caught up in the mess.

Sato’s #30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda was stuck upside down on top of Hunter-Reay’s #28 Honda, but all five drivers escaped serious injury.

Power dropped deep in the field due to a pit stop for a suspected flat tyre on the #12 Chevrolet, before Dixon split Pagenaud (#22 Chevrolet) and Newgarden when racing got underway again.

The top three ran as you were until the first pit stop cycle, during which Santino Ferrucci (#19 Dale Coyne Racing Honda) managed to climb from fifth and jump Dixon with a slight undercut.

Power, however, emerged in second having stayed out until just before Spencer Pigot (#21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet) crashed and brought out a Caution.

The Queenslander passed Pagenaud shortly after the restart although he seemed content to follow when the Frenchman reclaimed the lead on Lap 51, as Dixon ran third having got back in front of Ferrucci.

It looked like Power had received more good fortune when Pagenaud slowed in traffic and gave up first position as others around them were pitting again, but then he could not get to the lane before Colton Herta (#88 Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda) crashed.

Dixon led Ferrucci and Pagenaud for the Lap 82 restart as Power turned seventh position into sixth when the green flag flew again.

Power again ran longer into the next pit stop cycle, which kicked off just after the Lap 100 mark, and the pace he set in doing so saw him resume in second, behind Dixon but ahead of Pagenaud and Ferrucci, after taking service again.

He reeled in Dixon, passed the #9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda at Turn 1 on Lap 115, and put six seconds on the New Zealander in the next 10 laps.

The race was cut short within laps due to lightning and the threat of rain, meaning Power extends his run of winning at least one race in a season to 13 consecutive years.

Dixon, Pagenaud, and Ferrucci, filled second through fourth.

Newgarden finished fifth to extend his series lead to 35 points with three races remaining after Rossi, who was sent back out in a patched-up #27 Honda, took the chequered flag in 18th.

The next round is at Gateway on August 23-24 (local time).

Race results: Pocono

Pos Num Driver C/E/T Race time/Split Pit stops Status Grid pos
1 12 Will Power D/C/F 1:53:45.8296 5 Running 5
2 9 Scott Dixon D/H/F +5.4688 4 Running 4
3 22 Simon Pagenaud D/C/F +7.0950 4 Running 3
4 19 Santino Ferrucci (R) D/H/F +9.4697 4 Running 13
5 2 Josef Newgarden D/C/F +10.1771 4 Running 1
6 20 Ed Carpenter D/C/F +15.4239 4 Running 15
7 18 Sebastien Bourdais D/H/F +19.1641 4 Running 11
8 14 Tony Kanaan D/C/F +23.3941 5 Running 19
9 15 Graham Rahal D/H/F +25.2060 5 Running 8
10 23 Charlie Kimball D/C/F +27.4361 5 Running 21
11 59 Conor Daly D/C/F +29.2835 5 Running 22
12 7 Marcus Ericsson (R) D/H/F +32.6051 5 Running 16
13 26 Zach Veach D/H/F +1 lap 5 Running 18
14 4 Matheus Leist D/C/F +1 lap 7 Running 20
15 98 Marco Andretti D/H/F +2 laps 6 Running 17
16 88 Colton Herta (R) D/H/F +56 laps 3 Contact 14
17 21 Spencer Pigot D/C/F +89 laps 2 Contact 12
18 27 Alexander Rossi D/H/F +89 laps 1 Running 2
19 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/F +103 laps 4 Contact 6
20 5 James Hinchcliffe D/H/F +109 laps 3 Contact 10
21 30 Takuma Sato D/H/F +128 laps 0 Contact 7
22 10 Felix Rosenqvist (R) D/H/F +128 laps 0 Contact 9

Race winner: 128 laps
(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Josef Newgarden 535
2 Alexander Rossi 500
3 Simon Pagenaud 495
4 Scott Dixon 483
5 Will Power 407
6 Ryan Hunter-Reay 344
7 Graham Rahal 334
8 Takuma Sato 331
9 Felix Rosenqvist 304
10 Sebastien Bourdais 300
11 James Hinchcliffe 297
12 Santino Ferrucci 291
13 Spencer Pigot 278
14 Colton Herta 259
15 Marcus Ericsson 237
16 Marco Andretti 233
17 Zach Veach 223
18 Tony Kanaan 223
19 Matheus Leist 198
20 Ed Jones 187
21 Jack Harvey 153
22 Max Chilton 131
23 Ed Carpenter 121
24 Patricio O’Ward 115
25 Conor Daly 95
26 Charlie Kimball 52
27 Sage Karam 39
28 James Davison 36
29 Helio Castroneves 33
30 Ben Hanley 31
31 Pippa Mann 28
32 Kyle Kaiser 22
33 JR Hildebrand 20
34 Oriol Servia 16
35 RC Enerson 13
36 Jordan King 12 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

We encourage users to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!