TA2 introduces new race format for Winton

TA2 Muscle Cars will run a new weekend format at Winton

The TA2 Muscle Car Series is set to unveil an all-new race weekend format at Winton for what will be the category’s fourth round of the season.

Set to run four races across the weekend, the finale will be a 25 lap feature race with its own top 10 shootout.

The opening three races of the weekend will run to the traditional progressive grid format, though qualifying will be divided in half.

Heading out at the start of the 30 minute session will be the top half of the championship runners for a 15 minute hit out.

They’ll be followed on track by a 15 minute session for the balance of the field, with times from the two sessions combined to form the grid for the opening race.

From there, the finishing order determines the grid for the next race, until the end of race three.

With points awarded for each race, a cumulative tally will then see the weekend’s leading 10 runners take part in a top 10 shootout for the 25 lap finale.

It makes for a unique weekend format, the first time it’s been run in TA2 Muscle Car competition.

It follows last week’s announcement confirming the category is looking to align itself with the Australian Racing Group next year.

“We have had a bit more track time on offer to the series for this event, so we have decided to mix up the format for our competitors with some additions including a top ten shootout and a 25-lap mini-enduro feature race to finish the weekend,” explained category manager Craig Denyer.

“It’s something a little different for our racers, we have always received good feedback regarding the longer races, so a mini-enduro gives everyone plenty of time to plan their race and work their way forward.”

Aaron Seton currently leads the championship at its halfway point, with this weekend’s event its sole venture into Victoria this year.

Seton leads George Miedecke, Ashley Jarvis, Andrew Miedecke, and Nathan Herne in the title race, with the group set to form part of a 25 car field.

Practice for the weekend gets underway on Friday, August 16.

ENTRY LIST – TA2 Muscle Car Series, Winton

#3 – Craig Vanderstelt (SA), Ford Mustang – Zenith Custom Solutions
#4 – Mark Crutcher (NSW), Dodge Challenger – Crutcher Developments
#5 – Matthew Mackelden (NSW), Ford Mustang – Kubota Racing
#6 – Hugh McAlister (NSW), Ford Mustang – Kubota Racing
#7 – Michael Kulig (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro – Kulig Engineering
#10 – Peter Robinson (QLD), Dodge Challenger – Morgans Investment Consultants
#11 – Michael Coulter (NSW), Ford Mustang – Kobelco/Sydney Truck and Machinery
#12 – Tim Shaw (TAS), Dodge Challenger – Shaw Developments
#14 – Cameron Sendall (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro – Caddy Storage
#18 – Shaun Richardson (QLD), Ford Mustang – RTC Group/Road Rage Industries
#22 – Ashley Jarvis (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro – Lighthouse Electrical
#24 – Jack Childs (QLD), Ford Mustang – Think Investment Realty
#28 – Tim Tritton (QLD), Ford Mustang – Everyday Finance Solutions
#29 – Nathan Herne (NSW), Dodge Challenger – Gulf Western Oils
#35 – George Miedecke (NSW), Ford Mustang – Miedecke Motorsport
#45 – Simon Tabinor (VIC), Ford Mustang – South Eastern European Prestige Vehicles
#50 – Paul Hadley (NSW), Chevrolet Camaro – Illawarra Engineering Services
#55 – Russell Wright (QLD), Ford Mustang – RoadBees Transport
#71 – Adam Lowndes (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro – SNB Racing
#74 – Murray Kent (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro – Underground Civil Supplies
#77 – Bill Robinson (NSW), Ford Mustang – Elite Smash Repairs Erina
#88 – Aaron Seton (QLD), Ford Mustang – Castrol Harris Racing
#95 – Andrew Miedecke (NSW), Dodge Challenger – Ram Trucks Port Macquarie
#555 – George Elliot (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro – Dream Racing Australia
#777 – Craig Scutella (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro – Dream Racing Australia

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]