Chadwick wins inaugural W Series title

Monday 12th August, 2019 - 9:32am


Jamie Chadwick

Jamie Chadwick has won the inaugural W Series by finishing fourth in the season finale at Brands Hatch, a race taken out by Alice Powell.

Chadwick needed only a podium to guarantee that the championship would be hers, but still prevailed by 10 points when nearest rival Beitske Visser finished third.

The situation swung even further to Chadwick’s favour when the Brit qualified on pole as Visser earned fifth on the starting grid.

Chadwick led the field away with Powell, her fellow front row starter, second and Emma Kimilainen third.

Powell could not find a way past her compatriot until she made a bold move into Paddock Hill Bend just before the halfway mark and finally seized the lead at Druids.

Kimilainen was able to follow her through, and fourth placed Visser was not far behind Chadwick having been able to get by Fabienne Wohlwend early on.

The top two gapped Chadwick in the laps which followed, before a Safety Car was called due to a spin for Miki Koyama.

Alice Powell

Powell managed the late-race restart well and that was decisive as she went on to win by half a second from Kimilainen, and also elevate herself to third in the final standings.

Visser took third from Chadwick in the laps which remained in the season, but that would not be enough for the Dutch driver to overhaul her points deficit.

Wohlwend ended up fifth, from Vicky Piria, Jess Hawkins, and Marta Garcia, the latter of whom dropped a spot to fourth on the points table.

Rounding out the top 10 were Sabre Cook and Sarah Moore, with Caitlin Wood missing the points by one position in 11th.

As such, Wood also just missed out on an automatic invite to the 2020 series which is given to those who finish in the top 12 in the 2019 standings.

The New South Wales driver, who qualified 14th for the finale, was jumped by Cook and Hawkins having started the weekend 11th in the points.

Chadwick, meanwhile, collects $500,000 for her series victory and Visser $250,000 for being the runner-up, with all other drivers (including reserves) also taking away financial rewards on a sliding scale.

Race results: Race 6, Brands Hatch

Pos Num Driver Nat Laps Race time
1 27 Alice Powell GBR 21 31:24.967
2 7 Emma Kimilainen FIN 21 31:25.478
3 95 Beitske Visser NED 21 31:30.751
4 55 Jamie Chadwick GBR 21 31:34.288
5 5 Fabienne Wohlwend LIE 21 31:34.699
6 11 Vicky Piria ITA 21 31:35.697
7 21 Jessica Hawkins GBR 21 31:36.027
8 19 Marta Garcia ESP 21 31:36.580
9 37 Sabré Cook USA 21 31:37.146
10 26 Sarah Moore GBR 21 31:38.387
11 20 Caitlin Wood AUS 21 31:38.848
12 31 Tasmin Pepper RSA 21 31:39.188
13 3 Gosia Rdest POL 21 31:39.702
14 77 Vivien Keszthelyi HUN 21 31:43.623
15 99 Naomi Schiff GER 21 31:45.552
16 2 Esmee Hawkey GBR 21 31:45.722
17 67 Shea Holbrook USA 21 31:45.806
18 49 Megan Gilkes CAN 21 31:46.648
19 58 Sarah Bovy BEL 21 31:47.028
20 85 Miki Koyama JPN 19 31:47.093

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jamie Chadwick 110
2 Beitske Visser 100
3 Alice Powell 76
4 Marta Garcia 66
5 Emma Kimilainen 53
6 Fabienne Wohlwend 51
7 Miki Koyama 30
8 Sarah Moore 24
9 Vicky Piria 24
10 Tasmin Pepper 22
11 Sabré Cook 12
12 Jessica Hawkins 12
13 Caitlin Wood 11
14 Gosia Rdest 10
15 Esmee Hawkey 2
16 Naomi Schiff 2
17 Vivien Keszthelyi 1
18 Shea Holbrook 0
19 Sarah Bovy 0
20 Megan Gilkes 0 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!