Bright cops Race 1 penalty for Tander contact

Tom Howard

Sunday 4th August, 2019 - 11:24am


Jason Bright

Officials have handed Jason Bright a 10-second post-race time penalty following an incident with Leanne Tander during TCR Australia Race 1 at Queensland Raceway.

Stewards judged Bright to be at fault for the clash that sent Tander’s #3 Melbourne Performance Audi RS3 spinning at Turn 3 on Lap 12 of the 21 lap heat at the Ipswich circuit.

The pair were fighting over 10th position at the time of the incident.

Bright went on to finish 10th in the race while Tander recovered to finish 13th at the chequered flag.

The 10-second penalty has however demoted Bright to 13th with Tander elevated to 12th position.

Bright’s Alliance Autosport Volkswagen team-mate Alexandra Whitley has moved into the top 10.

TCR Australia continues today with two 21 lap races this afternoon beginning at 1315 AEST.

Race 1 winner Jean-Karl Vernay will start from pole position.

The races will be broadcast live on SBS and via the Shannons Nationals live stream carried by

UPDATED: Results: TCR Australia Race 1

Pos Num Driver Team Car Laps Time
1     4 Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            21 27:20.4629
2     9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)   Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 21 27:28.4149
3   100 Russell Ingall (Qld)   Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            21 27:29.0341
4    50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)   Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   21 27:32.8063
5     7 Jordan Cox (NSW)       Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta 21 27:33.7588
6     2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)    Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  21 27:34.2892
7    11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)    HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         21 27:35.3705
8    62 Alex Rullo (WA)        Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         21 27:41.8156
9    34 James Moffat (Vic)     Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    21 27:44.8122
10   35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld Alliance Autosport             Volkswagon Golf GTI  21 27:50.1770
11   38 Jordan Michels (NZ)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   21 27:54.4866
12    3 Leanne Tander (Vic)    Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            21 27:57.4687
13    8 Jason Bright (Vic)     Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Volkswagon Golf GTI  21 27:57.7425
14    6 Molly Taylor (NSW)     Kelly Racing                   Subaru WRX STi       21 28:10.0175
15   24 John Martin (NSW)      Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 27:53.2340
16   30 William Brown (Qld)    HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 28:26.4431
DNF 777 Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         16 21:16.1908 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!