Price holds off Richards for SuperUtes Race 2 win

Toby Price leads Steven Richards

Toby Price held off a spirited final lap challenge from Steven Richards to claim victory in Race 2 of the SuperUtes at Queensland Raceway.

Price (Mitsubishi Triton) put an early pass on Christopher Formosa (Ford Ranger) and then kept Richards (Holden Colorado) at bay to take the chequered flag.

Formosa swung around the outside of reverse grid pole-sitter Charlotte Poynting (Mitsubishi Triton) at the first corner to take the lead.

Ben Walsh (Toyota Hilux) and Benjamin Falk (Mazda BT-50) made contact at Turn 6 on the opening lap, putting the latter, who was running inside the top four, into the gravel.

Falk was able to rejoin the track, however, at the back of the field, while Walsh later pulled off the circuit.

Price sailed down the inside of Formosa at Turn 3 on Lap 2 for the lead, just as Richards found his way into third; which became second a few laps later as he too passed Formosa.

Meanwhile, Tom Alexander pulled into pit lane on Lap 4 with a turbo failure on his Isuzu D-Max.

Formosa continued to fall backward and was muscled past by Cameron Crick (Mitsubishi Triton), Craig Woods (Toyota Hilux) and Ryal Harris (Mazda BT-50) in quick succession, demoting Formosa to sixth.

Richards closed up on Price in the final two laps, having several looks at a pass on the final tour, but could not complete the move.

Price chalked up his second win of the season, crossing the line 0.3s ahead of Richards, while Crick was a close third.

Harris and Woods completed the top five.

The final SuperUtes race of the weekend takes place at 1555 AEST.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 13 19:25.0902
2 18 AC Delco Racing Steven Richards Holden Colorado 13 19:25.4063
3 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 13 19:25.6633
4 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 13 19:29.6420
5 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 13 19:30.4892
6 49 Allgate Auto Doors Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 13 19:38.4394
7 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 13 19:47.8466
8 68 Sieders Racing Team Jeff Watters Toyota Hilux 13 19:48.4612
9 96 Sieders Racing Team Charlotte Poynting Mitsubishi Triton 13 19:58.3589
10 72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 13 20:00.1412
DNF 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 7 10:45.7709
DNF 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 3 4:38.7883

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]