Kurt Kostecki takes Super2 pole by half a tenth

Kurt Kostecki

Kurt Kostecki has qualified on Armor all Pole Position for Race 2 of Dunlop Super2 Series Round 4 at Queensland Raceway by a gap of 0.0462s over Thomas Randle.

The Triple Eight Race Engineering driver was fastest after the first runs and maintained that position in what became a one-lap dash at the end after a transaxle failure for Will Brown caused a red flag.

Kurt Kostecki’s fastest lap was a 1:10.4395s, still a tenth of a second of the benchmark he set in Friday practice in the #55 VF Commodore but good enough for a second Super2 career pole position just one round after his first.

Race 1 winner Randle fell just short of back-to-back poles in the #5 Tickford FGX Falcon, while Dylan O’Keeffe achieved the best starting position of his rookie season with a 1:10.5502s in the #44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore.

Series leader Bryce Fullwood put the #16 MW Motorsport Altima on the outside of the second row, one position ahead of team-mate Zane Goddard (#28 Altima).

Adam Marjoram ran off at Turn 1 during his first run and nosed the #15 Image Racing VF Commodore into the tyre wall but regrouped to qualify sixth, ahead of Jack Perkins (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), Jack Smith (#21 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore), Mason Barbera (#99 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore), and Justin Ruggier (#88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore).

Ash Walsh (#35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) was only 13th and will be joined on the seventh row by Jake Kostecki, who set a lap which would have put him fourth but for the fact that he breached track limits in the #56 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore and lost the time.

Brown was accelerating down the back straight on a green tyre hot lap when the transaxle failed in the #38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore and he pulled into the infield at Turn 3.

The red flag came at an awkward time given that several had also already started flyers on what would have been their final runs, and meant that the other 16 drivers only had one shot when the session did resume after Brown’s car was recovered.

The Barbagallo race winner will start from the rear of the 17-car grid when Race 2 (20 laps) get underway at 1250 local time/AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver          Car            Fastest lap Split
1  55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4395
2  5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.4857 0:00.0462
3  44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 1:10.5502 0:00.1107
4  16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 1:10.6124 0:00.1729
5  28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 1:10.7680 0:00.3285
6  15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9132 0:00.4737
7  54 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9257 0:00.4862
8  21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9283 0:00.4888
9  99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9465 0:00.5070
10  88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 1:11.0221 0:00.5826
11  27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 1:11.0393 0:00.5998
12  49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 1:11.0712 0:00.6317
13  35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1155 0:00.6760
14  56 Team Arcoweld Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2768 0:00.8373
15  10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 1:11.5312 0:01.0917
16  18 Cavaliar Homes Australia Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.5866 0:01.1471
17  38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 1:11.5912 0:01.1517

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]