SUPPORTS: Treseder doubles up in wild Aussie races

Kyle Honour’s wild moment in Race 1 pic: Digital Realism

Aussie Racing Cars

Kel Treseder fended off Justin Ruggier for victory in the opening two races of Aussie Racing Cars Round 4 at Queensland Raceway.

Early on in Race 1, Ruggier got ahead of pole-sitter Treseder for the lead, while the latter had to keep debutant Kyle Honour at bay.

Treseder then sailed around the outside of Ruggier through Turn 1 on the penultimate lap to re-take the lead.

Honour tried to go down the inside of both of them at Turn 3 for the lead, but locked the rears and bounced over the kerb, almost rolling over before ending up in the sand trap.

Ruggier had a final shot at snatching the win at the final corner but lost out in the drag to the chequered flag by 0.019s, while Josh Anderson finished third.

Treseder once again had Ruggier in his mirrors in the closing stages of Race 2, and the latter tried another last-corner move.

A slide mid-corner meant he had to slot into second, with Treseder winning and Anderson third again.

Race 3 is on Sunday at 1015 local time/AEST, followed by Race 4 at 1700.

Zak Best

Super3 Series

MW Motorsport’s Zak Best won by almost five seconds after leading all the way in the opening race of Round 3 of the Kumho Tyre Super3 Series.

Best qualified on pole, put 0.7s on the field on the standing lap, and continued to pull away in the #78 FG Falcon.

Josh Fife (#14 Brad Jones Racing VE Commodore) got a slow start from the outside of the front row but maintained second position until he sailed off at Turn 3 on Lap 4.

Hamish Ribarits was pressuring Broc Feeney in what had become a battle for second until he locked up and also left the circuit at Turn 3 on Lap 6.

Feeney remained second thereafter in the #67 Paul Morris Motorsport FG Falcon, while Nic Carroll (#48 MW Motorsport FG Falcon) finished third after making one spot himself on Lap 1 and then inheriting two more due to Fife’s and Ribarits’ excursions.

Jayden Ojeda (#11 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) held off Fife to claim fourth, with Ribarits (#5 MW Motorsport FG Falcon) taking the chequered flag two seconds behind them in sixth.

Races 2 and 3 will be held tomorrow from 0855 and 1625 local time/AEST.

Aaron Seton leads the field

Touring Car Masters 

Aaron Seton took two dominant wins in Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters.

The front row of the grid for Race 1 was left half-vacant after series leader Steve Johnson failed to make the green flag due to his Ford Mustang expiring on the formation lap.

Aaron Seton (Ford Mustang) therefore had a clear path into the lead at the first corner, heading Ryal Harris (Chevrolet Camaro) and John Bowe (Holden Torana).

Adam Garwood (Chevrolet Camaro) pounced on Bowe to move into third spot shortly after the halfway mark of the 12-lap race.

A suspension issue for Harris on the last lap saw Garwood jump into second, while Bowe was third and Seton took home the win by 4.4s.

Garwood spun on the opening lap of Race 2 after a tap from Ryan Hansford (Holden Torana) with a number of cars taking to the grass in evasive action.

Ben Dunn (Chevrolet Monza) hit the back of Danny Buzadzic in the chaos and also sent the Holden Torana around.

Seton won comfortably by 2.9s ahead of Harris and Bowe, while Johnson charged from the back to seventh.

Round 4 concludes with another 12-lap race tomorrow at 1215 local time/AEST.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]