Harris sees off Walsh for SuperUtes Race 1 win

Ryal Harris (#1) leading Ben Walsh (#8) and Cameron Crick (#7)

Ryal Harris saw off a challenge from Ben Walsh to win the opening race of the weekend for the SuperUtes at the Ipswich SuperSprint.

From Armor All Pole Position, Harris (Mazda BT-50) held onto his lead ahead of a feisty pack at the start.

Walsh (Toyota Hilux) sliced his way up to second, heading Tom Alexander (Isuzu D-Max), while Cameron Crick (Mitsubishi Triton) fell back to fourth from the front row of the grid.

It wasn’t long before Crick got back past Alexander for third up the inside at Turn 4 after hanging around the outside at Turn 3.

Charlotte Poynting spun the #96 Mitsubishi Triton on her own on the exit of the final corner and ended up way off the track.

However, the Newcastle drier found a way back on the circuit.

Toby Price (Mitsubishi Triton) bumped the rear of Alexander under braking for the last corner on Lap 3 and slowed both of them up.

As a result, Price was passed in quick succession by Craig Woods (Toyota Hilux) and Benjamin Falk (Mazda BT-50).

On Lap 9, Walsh dived down the inside of Harris at Turn 3 to momentarily capture the lead, but Harris got back past three corners later.

Walsh dropped into the dirt on the exit of Turn 1 and lost touch with Harris on the final lap, having to settle for second ahead of Crick, Alexander, and Woods who completed the top five.

Steven Richards pulled into pit lane on the formation lap and did not take the start after he was due to line-up sixth in his Holden Colorado.

Race 2 for the SuperUtes will be on Sunday at 0820 AEST.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 10 14:55.9818
2 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 10 14:56.5354
3 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 10 14:57.0408
4 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 10 15:03.1311
5 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 10 15:03.5175
6 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 10 15:10.4592
7 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 10 15:11.6453
8 72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 10 15:23.8554
9 68 Sieders Racing Team Jeff Watters Toyota Hilux 10 15:24.2574
10 49 Allgate Auto Doors Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 10 15:24.5407
11 96 Sieders Racing Team Charlotte Poynting Mitsubishi Triton 10 15:50.7491
DNF 18 AC Delco Racing Steven Richards Holden Colorado    

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]