SUPPORTS: Mason wins in new TCM Mustang

Cameron Mason heads the Touring Car Masters field

Touring Car Masters

Cameron Mason has christened his new 1969 Trans Am Mustang with victory in the Dometic Trophy Race for Round 4 of Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters at Queensland Raceway.

Mason started from first position due to the grid inversion and had Cameron Tilley (#60 Valiant Pacer) on his outside, with both finishing in the same positions.

Allen Boughen’s race lasted no longer than 10 seconds after his #97 Mercury Comet speared into the tyre barriers on the inside of the circuit following door-to-door contact with Peter Burnitt (#12 Torana A9X).

Boughen escaped from the car unharmed as the whole circuit entered into yellow flag conditions, only to be withdrawn, leaving drivers who slowed and gave up their positions at a disadvantage.

Mason was one of the beneficiaries, quickly bridging a 1.5s gap in Car #33 and ultimately leading all the way to the chequered flag for a 5.8s win.

Tilley prevailed in a race-long four-car battle to claim second, while Ryan Hansford (#6 Torana A9X) was fit enough to race after cancer surgery and ended up third.

John Bowe (#18 Torana SL/R 5000) was fourth, from Adam Garwood (#85 Camaro RS), Marcus Zukanovic (#71 Falcon XD).

Ryal Harris (#58 Camaro SS) secured seventh ahead of Jim Pollicina (#7 Torana A9X), Aaron Seton (#30 Boss Mustang), and Guy Gibbons (#902 Monaro GTS).

Earlier, Seton qualified on pole for the first of tomorrow’s two 12-lap races, which start at 1000 and 1420 local time/AEST.

Josh Fife

Super3 Series

Brad Jones Racing’s Josh Fife was fastest in both of the day’s practice sessions for Round 3 of the Kumho Tyre Super3 Series.

The 2017 national KZ2 karting champion vied with Zak Best and Jayden Ojeda for top spot in Practice 1, usurping the latter with a 1:11.2516s just before the halfway mark.

Fife could not match that time in the warmer afternoon session but neither could anyone else, and his 1:11.3178s in the #14 VE Commodore was good enough to also top that hit-out.

Ojeda briefly held the lead in Practice 1 and his 1:11.3101s from that session kept the #11 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon second for the day.

Broc Feeney (#67 Paul Morris Motorsport FG Falcon), Best (#78 MW Motorsport FG Falcon), and series leader Hamish Ribarits rounded out the combined top five.

The latter was well off the pace with only three laps to his name in Practice 1 before an engine change for the #5 MW Motorsport FG Falcon had him in a more familiar position.

Super3 will qualify tomorrow at 0855 local time/AEST before a 13-lap opening race at 1150.

Kel Treseder pic: Digital Realism

Aussie Racing Cars

Kel Treseder claimed his first pole position of the season in Round 4 of Aussie Racing Cars.

Treseder clocked a 1.20.6171s around Queensland Raceway and will be joined on the front row by debutant driver Kyle Honour, who is normally one of Sean Rose Motorsport’s mechanics.

Honour ended qualifying 0.1505s behind Treseder, while series leader Justin Ruggier will start Race 1 from third position after he posted a 1:20.9158s.

Josh Anderson also made the second row, while Row 3 comprises 2018 series winner Joel Heinrich and Blake Sciberras.

Rounding out the top 10 are Tony Quinn, Reece Chapman in a special 100th anniversary Castrol livery, Leigh Bowler, and Craig Woods.

The first two races of the weekend are set to take place over 12 laps each tomorrow from 0825 and 1120 local time/AEST.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]