Smith lands MSR Supercars enduro drive

Jack Smith

Super2 driver Jack Smith will partner Todd Hazelwood at Matt Stone Racing in this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup.

The 20-year-old joins the Queensland squad for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Vodafone Gold Coast 600 and Penrite Oil Sandown 500 events after making his Supercars debut as a wildcard this season.

Smith has dovetailed a Super2 campaign for Brad Jones Racing alongside three Supercars wildcard outings for the Albury team at Tasmania, Winton and Darwin.

The rising star is currently sitting 10th in the Super2 standings having scored a season best seventh at Townsville earlier this month.  

“Our mission at MSR is to support and develop young drivers, and we are pleased to do just that with Jack coming on as co-driver with Todd Hazelwood, who himself is a product of our philosophy” said team owner Matt Stone.

Smith will team up with the MSR squad during today’s test at Queensland Raceway, where he is set to log his first laps in the #35 ZB Commodore, he will share with Hazelwood. 

The appointment leaves only seats at Tickford Racing and Tekno Autosports yet to be confirmed for this year’s enduros.

Super2 driver Thomas Randle is expected to take up the vacant seat alongside Lee Holdsworth in the #5 Bottle-O Ford Mustang, while team owner Jonathon Webb is likely to partner Jack Le Brocq. 

Entry list: Pirtek Enduro Cup Provisional

Num Team Primary driver Co-driver Car
2 Mobil 1 Mega Racing (WAU) Scott Pye Warren Luff Holden ZB Commodore
22 Mobil 1 Mega Racing (WAU) James Courtney Jack Perkins Holden ZB Commodore
3 Rabble.Club Racing (Kelly) Garry Jacobson Dean Fiore Nissan Altima L33
7 Plus Fitness Racing (Kelly) Andre Heimgartner Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima L33
15 Castrol Racing (Kelly) Rick Kelly Dale Wood Nissan Altima L33
78 Team Harvey Norman (Kelly) Simona De Silvestro Alex Rullo Nissan Altima L33
5 The Bottle-O Racing (Tickford) Lee Holdsworth TBA (Thomas Randle)* Ford Mustang
6 Monster Energy Racing (Tickford) Cameron Waters Michael Caruso Ford Mustang
23 Milwaukee Racing (Tickford/23Red) Will Davison Alex Davison Ford Mustang
55 Supercheap Auto Racing (Tickford) Chaz Mostert James Moffat Ford Mustang
8 Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat Tim Blanchard Holden ZB Commodore
14 Freightliner Racing (BJR) Tim Slade Ash Walsh Holden ZB Commodore
21 Team CoolDrive (BJR/TBR) Macauley Jones Dean Canto Holden ZB Commodore
9 Penrite Racing (Erebus) David Reynolds Luke Youlden Holden ZB Commodore
99 Penrite Racing (Erebus) Anton De Pasquale Will Brown Holden ZB Commodore
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team (DJRTP) Fabian Coulthard Tony D’Alberto Ford Mustang
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team (DJRTP) Scott McLaughlin Alexandre Premat Ford Mustang
18 Irwin Racing (Team 18) Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards Holden ZB Commodore
19 Truck Assist Tekno Racing Jack Le Brocq TBA (Jonathan Webb)* Holden ZB Commodore
33 Boost Mobile Racing (GRM) Richie Stanaway Chris Pither Holden ZB Commodore
34 Boost Mobile Racing (GRM) James Golding Richard Muscat Holden ZB Commodore
35 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Jack Smith Holden ZB Commodore
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team (Triple Eight) Shane van Gisbergen Garth Tander Holden ZB Commodore
888 Red Bull Holden Racing Team (Triple Eight) Jamie Whincup Craig Lowndes Holden ZB Commodore
TBA Kostecki Brothers Racing Brodie Kostecki Jake Kostecki Holden ZB Commodore

* Likely to get the seat.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]