Formula Ford boasts 29 cars for Sandown

Mat Coch

Wednesday 17th July, 2019 - 3:42pm


Formula Ford will feature a 29 car grid this weekend

Formula Ford will boast a 29-car field when it heads to Sandown this weekend for the fifth round of the national competition.

Split between Duratec and Kent classes, with 21 cars entered in the top class and the balance made up of older spec Kent entries.

Championship leader Angelo Mouzouris currently holds a 14 point advantage over Thomas Sargent after the opening four rounds, with Callum Hedge just two points further back.

Mouzouris scored a near-perfect 60 points at Round 3 of the series, missing only the point for pole position, and was a race winner again last time out at The Bend.

So too was Sargent, while Lachlan Mineeff claimed his first Formula Ford win in the final race of the weekend, a result which handed him the overall round.

Running alongside the national competition will be the Victorian Formula Ford Championship, in which Ben D’Alia holds a commanding 63 point lead over Ben Bargwanna.

Four practice sessions are set to open the weekend on Friday (July 19) before qualifying and the opening race on Saturday, culminating in two races on Sunday.

Australian Formula Ford Championship: Round 5 entry list

Duratec class
#2 Angelo Mouzouris – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#3 Courtney Prince – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#4 Jay Hanson – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#5 Callum Hedge – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#6 Paul Zsidy – Borland Racing Developments
#10 Zac Soutar
#14 Lachlan Mineeff – CHE Racing
#19 Spencer Ackermann
#32 Timothy Edwards
#36 Cody Burcher – Synergy Motorsport
#47 Thomas Sargent – CHE Racing
#53 Ben Bargwanna
#60 Cody Donald
#66 Ben D’Alia
#77 Kyle Gurton – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#78 Andrew Petrou
#85 Andy Simpson – G-Force Motorsport
#88 Harrison Goodman – BF Racing
#95 Adrian Lazzaro
#97 Liam McLellan – Synergy Motorsport
#98 Conor Nicholson

Kent class
#1 Brendan Jones – Borland Racing Developments
#17 Peter Fitzgerald
#22 Douglas Williams – Ellery Motorsport
#30 Andrew Lamrock
#46 James Meaden
#50 Mark Samson
#83 Ewan Geals
#99 John Connelly comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!