Brown sweeps to fourth TCR Australia win

Tom Howard

Sunday 14th July, 2019 - 2:01pm


Will Brown

Will Brown scored his fourth victory of the TCR Australia after coming through a Safety Car interrupted race at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The HMO Customer Racing driver controlled the race from start to finish overcoming two Safety Car restarts in what was an eventful encounter at the 4.95km South Australian circuit.

As Brown extended his series lead, Garth Tander (Melbourne Performance Centre – Audi) came home in second after a late crash from Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Chris Pither handed him the position.

Pither’s team-mate James Moffat inherited the final spot on the podium in the #34 Renault Megane.  

Brown made a strong getaway from second on the grid to lead the field by 2.8s at the end of an action packed opening lap.

Race 1 winner and pole-sitter Garth Tander found himself under attack from John Martin (Wall Racing – Honda) who briefly snatched second spot before doing so permanently at Turn 17.

Pither (Renault Megane) found himself all over the rear of Tander’s Audi before taking third on Lap 2.

The race was halted on the following lap when the Safety Car was deployed after Alexandra Whitley (Alliance Autosport – Volkswagen) stopped on the grass at Turn 17, after incurring damage on the opening lap.

Brown made no mistake on the restart while Pither overtook Tander at Turn 1 for second position.

Green flag running was short-lived as a collision between Jimmy Vernon (Garry Rogers Motorsport – Alfa Romeo) and Alex Rullo (Kelly Racing – Opel Astra) brought out the Safety Car for a second time. 

Vernon ran wide off the road at Turn 8 before sliding the car back onto the track, collecting the innocent Rullo in the process, ending both of their races.

Racing resumed on Lap 9 with Brown leading Pither, Garth Tander, Martin and Jordan Cox (Wall racing – Honda).

However, as the field braked for Turn 1 Pither locked his rears and speared into the concrete wall on the right hand side, throwing away second spot. 

While Brown went ton to take the win from Garth Tander and Moffat, Martin came home in fourth ahead of team-mate Cox.

Russell Ingall drove to sixth position in the Castrol backed Audi, ahead of Nathan Morcom (HMO Customer Racing – Hyundai) and Leanne Tander (Melbourne Performance Centre – Audi).

The top 10 was completed by Tony D’Alberto (Wall Racing – Honda) and championship contender Dylan O’Keeffe (Ash Seward Motorsport – Alfa Romeo).

Only 12 cars reached the finished as Aaron Cameron (Melbourne Performance Centre – Volkswagen) suffered damage to the left rear.

Race 3 is scheduled for 1345 local time.  

Results: TCR Australia Race 2 – The Bend Motorsport Park

Pos Num Driver Team  Car  Laps Time
1    30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         11 27:26.4026
2     4 Garth Tander (Vic)      Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:27.0592
3    34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    11 27:27.5833
4    24 John Martin (NSW)       Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:27.9851
5    38 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:28.3875
6   100 Russell Ingall (Qld)    Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:31.8636
7    11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         11 27:31.9996
8     3 Leanne Tander (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            11 27:33.1281
9    50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   11 27:34.4159
10    9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 11 27:35.0451
11    8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Volkswagon Golf GTI  11 27:38.2100
12   37 Chelsea Angelo (Vic)    Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         11 28:17.8474
DNF   2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  10 25:34.2234
DNF  33 Chris Pither (NZ)       Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS     9 23:28.9448
DNF   7 Jimmy Vernon (NSW)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta  6 14:53.0377
DNF  62 Alex Rullo (WA)         Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra          6 21:18.7856
DNF   6 Molly Taylor (NSW)      Kelly Racing                   Subaru WRX STi        2 15:42.0178
DNF  35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Alliance Autosport             Volkswagon Golf GTI comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!