Leeds victorious in the wet at The Bend

Luis Leeds

Luis Leeds has won the opening CAMS Payce Australian Formula 4 Championship race of the weekend in the wet at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The championship leader started alongside pole-sitter Lachlan Hughes, dicing past the Team BRM driver to claim his seventh win of the season.

Leeds, driving for AGI Sport, now holds an 84-point buffer in the title race and is a clear favourite for the championship which wraps up this weekend with a double-header round in South Australia.

BRM’s Ryan Suhle came home in second, 1.627 seconds behind, while fellow AGI Sport driver Antonio Astuti rounded out the podium placings with a commanding drive from the back of the grid.

Hughes could only manage fourth from the front row ahead of Emerson Harvey in the #76 Shannons/Focus on Furniture entry.

Thomas Smith (#5 Team BRM) placed sixth while Jackson Walls (#11 Objective Racing) completed the seven-car field.

The second race of the weekend sets off at 1005 ACST/local time on Saturday.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]