Heimgartner penalised for Courtney spin

Daniel Herrero

Sunday 7th July, 2019 - 9:54pm


Andre Heimgartner and James Courtney clash pic: Fox Sports

Andre Heimgartner has had 15 seconds added to his race time for his tangle with James Courtney on Lap 58 of Race 18 at the Watpac Townsville 400.

Courtney went down the inside of Heimgartner at Turn 11 but the Kelly Racing driver started to draw back alongside the Walkinshaw Andretti United entry at Turn 12.

They then bumped, causing Courtney to spin and back into the wall on driver’s left just as Heimgartner also ploughed into the side of the #22 ZB Commodore, unable to avoid more contact.

Cameron Waters, who went on to finish third, had a near miss with Courtney, who continued in 16th while Macauley Jones passed Heimgartner’s #7 Altima to take up 17th at the time.

Courtney was originally classified in 13th once other already determined time penalties were accounted for, and Heimgartner in 15th.

The latter now drops to 18th due to the driving infringement but remains 15th in the drivers’ championship.

Time penalties for Brad Jones Racing trio Jones, Nick Percat, and Tim Slade, as well as Team 18’s Mark Winterbottom, were determined during the race.

BJR is, however, still under investigation for the fire which erupted in its pit bay and another in the rear of Percat’s #8 ZB Commodore late in the race.

“The DRD has opened, but not yet concluded, an investigation into the fire that happened during the Pit Stop of Car 8 during the late part of the Race,” read the stewards report.

David Reynolds was not punished for the first-lap incident with Scott McLaughlin “as neither Driver was wholly or predominately to blame,” according to the report.

Reynolds maintained that he was not at fault while McLaughlin took the view that the footage showed that the Erebus driver was.

Todd Hazelwood was cleared of wrongdoing for crossing the pit entry chevron due to “exculpating circumstances”.

Results: Race 18, Watpac Townsville 400

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 64 1:37:33.2943
2 333 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 64 1:37:34.0784
3 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 64 1:37:34.7384
4 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 64 1:37:35.3391
5 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 64 1:37:36.1045
6 100 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 64 1:37:37.5623
7 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 64 1:37:37.9763
8 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 64 1:37:38.6355
9 33 Boost Mobile Racing Michael Caruso Holden Commodore ZB 64 1:37:40.5281
10 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 64 1:37:42.7599
11 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 64 1:37:43.5359
12 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 64 1:37:57.5545
13 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:37:36.7124
14 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:37:40.3534
15 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:37:44.7925
16 35 Unit Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:37:47.1332
17 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:37:49.9174
18 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 63 1:37:56.7466
19 8 Elite Roads Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 63 1:38:08.6979
20 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 60 1:37:46.0743
21 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 51 1:37:49.3180
DNF 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 59 1:28:18.0750
DNF 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 47 1:37:51.3585
DNF 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 18 24:21.7870

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Scott McLaughlin 2168
2 Fabian Coulthard 1876
3 Shane van Gisbergen 1669
4 Chaz Mostert 1640
5 David Reynolds 1634
6 Jamie Whincup 1528
7 Cameron Waters 1396
8 Nick Percat 1321
9 Will Davison 1274
10 Lee Holdsworth 1224
11 Anton De Pasquale 1200
12 Tim Slade 1149
13 James Courtney 1123
14 Mark Winterbottom 1093
15 Andre Heimgartner 1067
16 Scott Pye 976
17 Todd Hazelwood 940
18 Rick Kelly 927
19 James Golding 875
20 Simona De Silvestro 838
21 Macauley Jones 678
22 Jack Le Brocq 667
23 Garry Jacobson 623
24 Richie Stanaway 482
25 Jack Smith 219
26 Chris Pither 159
27 Michael Caruso 123
28 Tim Blanchard 93 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!