Love fastest on Friday in Carrera Cup despite injury

Jordan Love

Jordan Love was fastest in Friday practice for Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia at the Watpac Townsville 400 despite driving with an injury.

Love is recovering from a broken left hand following a nasty crash at the last round in Darwin, but that did not prevent the Sonic driver from setting the fastest lap in Practice 2 at the Reid Park circuit.

Dale Wood held sway at the head of the field for much of the 25-minute session, banking in an early 1:14.410s.

As a dry line appeared in the final five minutes, sector improvements started to fly in, although the overall lap time didn’t improve dramatically.

Love punched in a 1:14.179s to go from seventh to the top, before improving slightly on the following lap.

Wood held onto second spot, 0.09s behind Love, while David Wall was third quickest.

Cameron Hill and Cooper Murray completed the top five for the session.

Pro-Am was headed by Anthony Gilbertson in both practice sessions.

Thomas Maxwell topped Practice 1 with a late 1:14.613s lap that put him 0.02s ahead of Michael Almond, and fourth for the day combined.

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia returns to the track for Qualifying on Saturday at 0850 AEST.

Results: Combined Practice

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Sess. Fastest lap Split
1 777 Sonic / Bob Jane T-Marts/SRG Jordan Love P P2 1:14.1518  
2 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P P2 1:14.2423 0:00.0905
3 38 PAYCE David Wall P P2 1:14.3554 0:00.2036
4 5 Sonic Thomas Maxwell P P1 1:14.6134 0:00.4616
5 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P P2 1:14.6818 0:00.5300
6 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Aus Michael Almond P P1 1:14.7085 0:00.5567
7 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P P2 1:14.7105 0:00.5587
8 7 MEGA/No Second Chance Warren Luff P P1 1:14.7547 0:00.6029
9 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P P1 1:14.9422 0:00.7904
10 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson A P2 1:15.0249 0:00.8731
11 12 O’Brien Electrical & Plumbing Steve Richards P P1 1:15.1330 0:00.9812
12 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A P2 1:15.2875 0:01.1357
13 23 Dayco / Lago Cold Stores Roger Lago A P2 1:15.3311 0:01.1793
14 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P P2 1:15.5882 0:01.4364
15 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor A P2 1:15.9810 0:01.8292
16 22 BMF Dean Cook A P2 1:15.9969 0:01.8451
17 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A P1 1:16.0105 0:01.8587
18 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A P1 1:16.1153 0:01.9635
19 6 Garage 1 Tim Miles A P2 1:16.1457 0:01.9939
20 9 Hallmarc Michael Loccisano A P1 1:17.4988 0:03.3470
21 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A P2 1:17.7543 0:03.6025

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]