BREAKING: TCR Australia has abandoned plans to feature on the Superloop Adelaide 500 support bill next year following an understood objection from Supercars…read story

Rossi wins, Power distant second at Road America

Monday 24th June, 2019 - 8:56am


Alexander Rossi

Alexander Rossi won the Road America IndyCar race by almost half a minute while Will Power was the best of the rest.

Rossi led 54 of 55 laps to reduce Josef Newgarden’s series lead to seven points after the Team Penske driver finished on the final step of the podium.

Scott Dixon came from last after a spin on Lap 1 to finish fifth, one position behind Graham Rahal.

Rossi went to the outside Colton Herta (#88 Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda) at the first corner and stuck with the pole-sitter, exiting Turn 3 in top spot.

Power was third, from Rahal, Takuma Sato (#30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda), and the #2 Chevrolet of Newgarden.

Herta got around four seconds clear of Power before the Queenslander reeled him back in and made a bold outside move at Turn 5 on Lap 13.

The pair touched but the #12 Team Penske Chevrolet took up second position while Herta made what should have been a routine pit stop at the end of the lap, only to lose time due to a refuelling issue.

Rossi and Power, among others, completed the cycle a lap later and they continued to run first and second, although the #27 Andretti Autosport Honda was eight seconds clear.

Newgarden, who had re-passed Sato on Lap 2 after starting fourth, gained two more positions during the pit stops to sit third, from James Hinchcliffe (#5 Schmidt Peterson Honda), Rahal (#15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda), and Simon Pagenaud (#22 Team Penske Chevrolet).

But for two more pit stop cycles, the top three remained the same until the chequered flag.

Rossi ended the 43rd lap in third position as the last pit stops were taking place, the only time he did not officially lead the race, and he went on to take victory by 28.4391s.

Power was another 3.4052s up on team-mate Newgarden, while Rahal emerged back in front of Hinchcliffe after pitting for the last time on Lap 42.

The contest for fifth was a genuine scrap, ultimately resolved in favour of Dixon when he dragged past Herta at the start of the final lap.

Dixon started 12th after an engine failure at the end of the first part of qualifying and was helped into a spin by Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28 Andretti Autosport Honda) when the Kiwi made an untidy run through the fifth corner.

As a rare starter on primary tyres, Dixon took advantage of the fading rubber of many around him to pass 10 cars on the road in his first stint, and was 10th once the initial pit stops had been done.

He got by Santino Ferrucci (#19 Dale Coyne Racing Honda) on Lap 17 then profited from a stoush between Pagenaud and Herta to go up to seventh on Lap 21.

Herta re-passed the #9 Chip Ganassi Honda on Lap 25, and they were sixth and seventh respectively following the pit stops which fell shortly after, behind Hinchcliffe and Rahal.

They stayed that way through the third stint, before Herta ebbed and flowed in the final stint by being the odd one out on alternate tyres at that end of the field.

When Hinchcliffe and Herta battled over fifth, Dixon was able to pinch sixth from the former at Turn 5 on Lap 54, before putting his final move on the rookie.

In the end it was Dixon’s team-mate, Felix Rosenqvist (#10 Honda) in sixth, from Hinchcliffe, Herta, Pagenaud, and Sato.

The 11th race of 17 takes place on the streets of Toronto from July 12-14.

Race results: Road America

Pos Num Driver C/E/T Race time/Split Pit stops Status Grid pos
1 27 Alexander Rossi D/H/F 1:39:40.4743 3 Running 2
2 12 Will Power D/C/F +28.4391 3 Running 3
3 2 Josef Newgarden D/C/F +31.8443 3 Running 4
4 15 Graham Rahal D/H/F +33.4094 3 Running 5
5 9 Scott Dixon D/H/F +39.1173 3 Running 12
6 10 Felix Rosenqvist (R) D/H/F +41.7825 3 Running 18
7 5 James Hinchcliffe D/H/F +45.5520 3 Running 9
8 88 Colton Herta (R) D/H/F +47.6935 3 Running 1
9 22 Simon Pagenaud D/C/F +53.8945 3 Running 16
10 30 Takuma Sato D/H/F +58.9047 4 Running 6
11 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/F +1:01.0878 3 Running 15
12 18 Sebastien Bourdais D/H/F +1:03.9724 3 Running 7
13 7 Marcus Ericsson (R) D/H/F +1:17.7859 3 Running 17
14 21 Spencer Pigot D/C/F +1:19.6032 3 Running 8
15 60 Jack Harvey D/H/F +1:42.2456 3 Running 19
16 59 Max Chilton D/C/F +1:46.5309 3 Running 22
17 31 Patricio O’Ward (R) D/C/F +1 lap 3 Running 13
18 26 Zach Veach D/H/F +1 lap 3 Running 14
19 19 Santino Ferrucci (R) D/H/F +1 lap 4 Running 21
20 4 Matheus Leist D/C/F +1 lap 4 Running 20
21 14 Tony Kanaan D/C/F +1 lap 3 Running 23
22 20 Ed Jones D/C/F +1 lap 3 Running 11
23 98 Marco Andretti D/H/F +37 laps 2 Mechanical 10

Race winner: 55 laps
(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Josef Newgarden 402
2 Alexander Rossi 395
3 Simon Pagenaud 341
4 Scott Dixon 308
5 Will Power 294
6 Takuma Sato 292
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay 271
8 Graham Rahal 244
9 James Hinchcliffe 216
10 Felix Rosenqvist 209
11 Sebastien Bourdais 208
12 Santino Ferrucci 204
13 Spencer Pigot 194
14 Colton Herta 183
15 Marcus Ericsson 183
16 Marco Andretti 174
17 Tony Kanaan 156
18 Zach Veach 153
19 Ed Jones 152
20 Matheus Leist 145
21 Jack Harvey 133
22 Patricio O’Ward 115
23 Max Chilton 101
24 Ed Carpenter 82
25 Conor Daly 59
26 James Davison 36
27 Helio Castroneves 33
28 Charlie Kimball 32
29 Ben Hanley 31
30 Pippa Mann 28
31 Kyle Kaiser 22
32 Sage Karam 22
33 JR Hildebrand 20
34 Oriol Servia 16
35 Jordan King 12 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!