Vergne holds off Evans in crash marred Swiss E-Prix

Mat Coch

Sunday 23rd June, 2019 - 10:00am


Jean-Eric Vergne leads Mitch Evans

Jean-Eric Vergne claimed a narrow victory in the Swiss E-Prix ahead of New Zealander Mitch Evans.

The Frenchman started from pole before taking the win, surviving a 40 minute red flag period and full race restart following an opening lap crash that blocked the track.

It was the DS Techeetah driver’s third win of the campaign, and sees him extend his title advantage to 32 points with just one weekend, and two races, remaining in New York.

A solid start saw Vergne clear of the opening lap carnage which was triggered by a touch between Sam Bird and Pascal Wehrlein.

It sent the latter into Maximilian Gunther, blocking the track at the Turn 12 chicane.

Though some drivers managed to thread the needle through the mess, officials opted to stop the race.

At the restart, with all cars back on their original grid boxes, Vergne headed the field from Evans.

The Kiwi mounted a stern challenge, but was unable to find a way through, the pair locked together throughout the encounter.

Sebastien Buemi claimed third while Andre Lotterer was originally classified fourth before copping a post-race penalty which dropped him to 14th.

A 22-second penalty was handed out after Lotterer exited the pits while the lights were red, having taken to the lane following the pile-up at the first start.

That promoted Bird to fifth, and Gunther sixth, having both recovered following their stoush on the original opening lap.

Bird had headed Lotterer during the race, only for a mistake to open the door for the Belgian to move through on the road.

Jerome D’Ambrosio was also penalised when he shunted Robin Frijns out of the way at the original start, before the eight car pile-up further around the lap.

Alexander Sims, Gary Paffett, and Edoardo Mortara were also investigated after the trio collided.

Antonio Felix Da Costa crossed the line 12th though he too was investigated, this time for a breach of full course yellow procedures.

Formula E next moves to New York for a double header finale on July 13 and 14 with six drivers still mathematically in contention for the title.

Race results: Race 11, Bern

Pos Driver Team Laps Race time/Split
1 Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 31 1:25:26.873
2 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 31 +0.160
3 Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 31 +0.720
4 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 31 +2.996
5 Maximilian Günther Geox Dragon 31 +4.625
6 Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 31 +6.930
7 Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 31 +9.972
8 Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 31 +12.310
9 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 31 +13.073
10 Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 31 +13.386
11 Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 31 +14.714
12 António Félix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 31 +18.917
13 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 31 +21.872
14 André Lotterer DS Techeetah 31 +23.106
15 Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 31 +40.084
16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 31 +46.622
17 Gary Paffett HWA Racelab 31 +1:22.512
DNF Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 21  
DNF Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 11  
DNF Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 5  
DNF Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing    
DSQ José María López Geox Dragon    

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jean-Éric Vergne 130
2 Lucas di Grassi 98
3 Mitch Evans 87
4 André Lotterer 86
5 António Félix da Costa 82
6 Robin Frijns 81
7 Sébastien Buemi 76
8 Daniel Abt 75
9 Sam Bird 69
10 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 65
11 Oliver Rowland 63
12 Edoardo Mortara 52
13 Pascal Wehrlein 52
14 Felipe Massa 36
15 Stoffel Vandoorne 31
16 Alexander Sims 24
17 Maximilian Günther 20
18 Alex Lynn 10
19 Gary Paffett 8
20 Oliver Turvey 6
21 José María López 3
22 Nelson Piquet Jnr 1
23 Tom Dillmann 0
24 Felipe Nasr 0
25 Felix Rosenqvist 0 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!