BREAKING: TCR Australia has abandoned plans to feature on the Superloop Adelaide 500 support bill next year following an understood objection from Supercars…read story

Herta takes maiden IndyCar pole at Road America

Sunday 23rd June, 2019 - 9:00am


Colton Herta

Colton Herta has become the youngest ever IndyCar pole-sitter while Will Power will start third in the 10th race of the season, at Road America.

Scott Dixon, however, failed to turn a lap in the second phase of qualifying after a mechanical issue beset his #9 Chip Ganassi Honda at the end of his first hit-out.

Herta clocked a 1:42.9920s in the #88 Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda which put him 0.1773s clear of Alexander Rossi (#27 Andretti Autosport Honda).

Power (#12 Chevrolet) will be joined on the second row of the grid by Team Penske team-mate and series leader, Josef Newgarden (#2 Chevrolet).

Row 3 is an all-Rahal Letterman Lanigan affair with Graham Rahal (#15 Honda) edging Takuma Sato (#30 Honda) in the Fast Six.

While Dixon took 12th somewhat by default, team-mate Felix Rosenqvist (#10 Honda) went out at the first time of asking and will start 18th.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28 Andretti Autosport Honda) and Simon Pagenaud (#22 Team Penske Chevrolet) are only slightly better off with each putting in untidy laps on their way to 15th and 16th respectively.

The 55-lap race gets underway tomorrow at 0245 AEST.

Starting grid: Road America

Pos Num Driver C/E/T Time Session
1 88 Colton Herta (R) D/H/F 1:42.9920 Fast Six
2 27 Alexander Rossi D/H/F 1:43.1693 Fast Six
3 12 Will Power D/C/F 1:43.3749 Fast Six
4 2 Josef Newgarden D/C/F 1:43.6036 Fast Six
5 15 Graham Rahal D/H/F 1:43.8076 Fast Six
6 30 Takuma Sato D/H/F 1:43.8790 Fast Six
7 18 Sebastien Bourdais D/H/F 1:43.2989 Top 12
8 21 Spencer Pigot D/C/F 1:43.3083 Top 12
9 5 James Hinchcliffe D/H/F 1:43.3814 Top 12
10 98 Marco Andretti D/H/F 1:43.3945 Top 12
11 20 Ed Jones D/C/F 1:43.5162 Top 12
12 9 Scott Dixon D/H/F No Time Top 12
13 31 Patricio O’Ward (R) D/C/F 1:43.6061 Group 1
14 26 Zach Veach D/H/F 1:43.4488 Group 2
15 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/F 1:43.6980 Group 1
16 22 Simon Pagenaud D/C/F 1:43.4764 Group 2
17 7 Marcus Ericsson (R) D/H/F 1:43.8913 Group 1
18 10 Felix Rosenqvist (R) D/H/F 1:43.5038 Group 2
19 60 Jack Harvey D/H/F 1:44.6179 Group 1
20 4 Matheus Leist D/C/F 1:43.8570 Group 2
21 19 Santino Ferrucci (R) D/H/F 1:49.3060 Group 1
22 59 Max Chilton D/C/F 1:43.8745 Group 2
23 14 Tony Kanaan D/C/F 1:44.4183 Group 2

(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!