Marquez wins in Catalunya as Lorenzo causes carnage

Marc Marquez pic:

Marc Marquez has won the Catalan MotoGP while Repsol Honda team-mate Jorge Lorenzo took down Andrea Dovizioso, Maverick Viñales, and Valentino Rossi on Lap 2.

Marquez was passing Dovizioso for the lead at Turn 10 when Lorenzo lost his front end and took out another three riders who were running in the top five.

The championship leader ran away with the race from point, while Petronas SRT Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo achieved his first premier class podium in a distant second position.

Mission Winnow Ducati’s last-start winner, Danilo Petrucci, was third after a willing battle for the minors, ahead of Suzuki Ecstar’s Alex Rins and Pramac Racing’s Jack Miller.

Dovizioso took the lead to Turn 1 from fifth on the grid as Marquez filed into second position after initially trying to pass the #04 Mission Winnow Ducati around the outside, while Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha) moved into third when Quartararo was held wide at Turn 3.

Viñales was second when Marquez ran wide one corner later, while Lorenzo passed both Quartararo and Petrucci to move into fourth position at Turn 5.

Marquez re-passed Viñales at the start of Lap 2 and when Dovizioso bucked his way through Turn 9, the Honda rider went down the inside of the Italian at Turn 10.

His team-mate, however, dropped his RC213V and crashed into both Dovizioso and Petrucci, while Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha) also fell when he couldn’t avoid Bike #99.

“It’s a tricky corner, I always say that,” explained Lorenzo later during the race.

“It’s a very close hairpin and you don’t have any options if you brake a little bit too late like (what) happened today with me.

“I was very unfortunate to take out a lot of riders; Valentino, Andrea, and Maverick.

“I feel really sorry for them because it wasn’t their fault, obviously; it was my fault, it was my mistake, but this type of corner is very difficult not to make any mistake in all the race, so it was like that.”

The mayhem saw Petrucci inherit second and Miller, who qualified 14th, assume third position before the Queenslander was passed by Rins and Quartararo on the next lap.

They duelled for a handful of laps until Quartararo had a moment on the rear entering the main straight on Lap 6 and ceded third position to Rins.

The Suzuki rider then twice tried and failed to make a move on Petrucci stick at Turn 1, but got through with contact at Turn 4 on Lap 14.

Miller spent a couple of corners back in front of Quartararo in fourth position before Petrucci powered past Rins at the start of Lap 17.

Rins tried to re-pass a lap later but slide and had to save the highside three times, rejoining the track in seventh position at the exit of Turn 2.

By that time, it was in fact Quartararo relieving Petrucci of second position, and from there he pulled away as the Italian started to struggle for tyre life.

Miller was suffering similar a problem on his satellite Ducati and lost fourth position to a recovering Rins on the final lap, while Joan Mir finished sixth on the second Suzuki.

Round out the top 10 were Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory), Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu LCR Honda), Tito Rabat (Reale Avintia Ducati), and Johann Zarco (Red Bull KTM Factory).

There were only 13 finishers out of the 24 starters, with the unsuccessful 11 also including Cal Crutchlow when he sprayed his Castrol LCR Honda into the gravel in trying to lunge past Miller at Turn 4 on Lap 19.

Marquez’s race lead peaked at about 5.5s before he eased off in the final seven laps, and the Honda rider now heads the standings by 37 points over Dovizioso, with Rins only two more behind.

Testing takes place at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Monday (local time), with Round 8 at Assen on June 28-30.

Jorge Lorenzo causes carnage pic: MotoGP Twitter

Race results: Catalan MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time/Gap
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 40:31.175
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +2.660
3 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati +4.537
4 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +6.602
5 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati +6.870
6 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +7.040
7 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +16.144
8 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +17.969
9 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +22.661
10 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +26.228
11 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +32.036
12 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +44.666
13 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +51.363
DNF 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 8 Laps
DNF 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 19 Laps
DNF 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 21 Laps
DNF 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 22 Laps
DNF 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 22 Laps
DNF 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 23 Laps
DNF 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 23 Laps
DNF 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 23 Laps
DNF 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 0 Lap

Race winner: 24 laps

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
1 Marc MARQUEZ ESP 140
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA 103
3 Alex RINS ESP 101
4 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 98
5 Valentino ROSSI ITA 72
6 Jack MILLER AUS 53
8 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 48
11 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 40
14 Joan MIR ESP 22
15 Jorge LORENZO ESP 19
16 Johann ZARCO FRA 16
17 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR 12
18 Andrea IANNONE ITA 12
19 Michele PIRRO ITA 9
20 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA 9
21 Tito RABAT ESP 9
22 Stefan BRADL GER 6
23 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA 3
24 Karel ABRAHAM CZE 2
25 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS 2
26 Bradley SMITH GBR  

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]