Formula E releases 2019/20 calendar, new sporting regs

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 15th June, 2019 - 8:56am


Formula E’s last race in Berlin

Formula E has released a 12-event, 14-race calendar for its 2019/20 season as well as new regulations regarding Attack Mode and energy management.

The previously announced London double-header, which will see racing inside and around an exhibition centre at the Royal Docks, will close out the season on July 25-26.

Riyadh has been pencilled in as the other double-header, subject to agreement with the government, retaining its status as the season-opener but moving forward to a late November slot.

There is a TBC slot in mid-December before the Santiago E-Prix on January 18, a week earlier than it was held in the current season, before Formula E again proceeds to Mexico City and Hong Kong.

Another race in China, run in Sanya this year, is listed with city TBC, before Rome, Paris, and the new Seoul race.

Berlin follows, but Bern and Monaco drop off, the latter due to its standard biennial rotation.

New York is now a single race rather than double-header, before the return to Europe for the London leg.

In sporting news, Attack Mode power has been increased from 225kW to 235kW, and may no longer be activated under Safety Car or Full Course Yellow (FCY).

A standard amount of energy will be subtracted from the amount available to drivers during Safety Car or FCY, of 1kWh per minute.

The move has been designed to prevent drivers saving extra energy during such race neutralisations, forcing them to conserve more energy during green flag racing and therefore making for more unpredictable finishes.

The lifespan for the Gen2 car, which debuted in this, the fifth season of Formula E, has been extended a season to the end of season eight.

Round 11 of 2018/19 takes place in Bern on June 22.

Formula E 2019/20 calendar

Race City Country Date
1 Ad Diriyah** Saudi Arabia November 22, 2019
2 Ad Diriyah Saudi Arabia November 23, 2019
3 TBC TBC December 14, 2019
4 Santiago* Chile January 18, 2020
5 Mexico City* Mexico February 15, 2020
6 Hong Kong* China March 1, 2020
7 TBC China March 21, 2020
8 Rome Italy April 4, 2020
9 Paris France April 18, 2020
10 Seoul* South Korea May 3, 2020
11 Berlin Germany May 30, 2020
12 New York City USA June 20, 2020
13 London* UK July 25, 2020
14 London* UK July 26, 2020

*Subject to circuit homologation

**Double-header subject to government agreement comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!