De Silvestro given post-race penalty for Hazelwood contact

Simona De Silvestro

Simona De Silvestro has been issued a post-race penalty for pushing Todd Hazelwood off the road early in Supercars Championship Race 15 at the BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown.

De Silvestro and Hazelwood were both attempting to capitalise on the kerfuffle between Mark Winterbottom and Andre Heimgartner at one end of the main straight when they arrived deep under brakes at Turn 1.

Hazelwood appeared to already been running wide when he received a touch from behind from the #78 Nissan Altima which saw both leave the road at the start of Lap 3.

Having been vying in a gaggle of cars for 13th position, De Silvestro ended up 20th and Hazelwood 21st when the Safety Car was called for a separate incident involving Tim Slade and Rick Kelly.

The Swiss driver was given a 15-second penalty which relegated her from 16th to 19th, officially one position behind Hazelwood in the final classification.

“Following a Post-Race investigation by the DRD and after an admission by the Driver of Car #78, Simona De Silvestro, the Stewards imposed a 15 second Post-Race Time Penalty on Car #78 for a breach of Article 2.1 of Schedule B2 (Careless Driving) for contact with Car #35 Todd Hazelwood, at Turn 1 on Lap 3 as a result of which Car #35 was pushed off the Race Track surface and lost positions.”

An investigation into the wild Lap 1 incident between Macauley Jones, James Golding, and Jack Le Brocq resulted in no further action as the Driver Standards Advisor, Craig Baird, and Deputy Race Director, Dave Stuart, found no driver wholly or predominately to blame after a review of broadcast, Hawk-Eye, and in-car footage.

Kelly incurred a drive-through for the Slade crash, Will Davison had 15 seconds added to his race time after officials determined during the race that he was released unsafely into the path of David Reynolds in the pits, and Andre Heimgartner served a 15-second hold in his pit stop for weaving with the Safety Car lights out.

Results: Race 15, BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 42 52:11.8540
2 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 42 52:18.7369
3 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:19.7316
4 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 42 52:20.0959
5 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:20.8073
6 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 42 52:24.3156
7 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 42 52:25.8622
8 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:27.1426
9 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:31.9991
10 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:38.3782
11 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:40.0393
12 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 42 52:43.9866
13 8 Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:44.5162
14 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 42 52:46.5688
15 33 Boost Mobile Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:47.1784
16 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 42 52:50.7803
17 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:51.5576
18 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 42 52:56.5169
19 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 42 53:02.5642
20 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 42 53:17.1809
21 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 41 52:14.0572
22 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 34 53:15.1087
DNF 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1 1:19.4157
DNF 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB
DNF 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]