McLaughlin leads DJRTP one-two in Practice 2 in Darwin

Scott McLaughlin

Shell V-Power Racing’s Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard have finished first and second in Practice 2 for the BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown while Shane van Gisbergen missed the top 10.

McLaughlin and Coulthard were separated by 0.1414s once the latter leapt from outside the top 20 in the final minute of the half-hour session at Hidden Valley Raceway, while Jamie Whincup was first of the Holden runners in third at another 0.0446s back.

Fellow Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver van Gisbergen, however, was edged out of the top 10 at the end and now has to go into Part 1 of tomorrow’s Armor All Qualifying session.

McLaughlin was quickest ahead of the final runs with a 1:06.4158s on his second set of used tyres before taking the #17 Mustang to a 1:06.0800s on greens.

Coulthard was 21st as he set a 1:06.2214s in the 30th minute in the #12 Mustang, shuffling Whincup back to third after the #88 ZB Commodore briefly sat first during the new tyre runs.

“There’s so much more pressure than practice,” said McLaughlin.

“It’s tough, and you got to really be focused for the lap. It’s always nice to get one in. Fabs is up there too, which is great for the team.”

Practice 1 fast man Chaz Mostert’s personal best of 1:06.3256s came slightly earlier in the session as the #55 Supercheap Auto Mustang ended up fourth.

David Reynolds, who was fastest prior to McLaughlin, was ultimately fifth fastest in the #9 Penrite ZB Commodore, two positions ahead of team-mate Anton De Pasquale (#99 ZB Commodore).

Splitting them was the second of the Tickford drivers in Lee Holdsworth (#5 The Botte-O Mustang), while eighth through 10th was James Courtney (#22 Mobil 1 Mega ZB Commodore), Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), and Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore).

Waters’ move from 15th to ninth with the chequered flag out was the lap which knocked van Gisbergen out of the top 10, with the Kiwi already back in pit lane.

Van Gisbergen had earlier complained of a vibration in the #97 ZB Commodore, and also had a spring and/or damper change during the session.

Andre Heimgartner was the best of the Nissans with a 1:06.8500s putting him 16th in the order in the #7 Plus Fitness Altima.

Practice 3 starts tomorrow at 1050 local time/1120 AEST, before Armor All Qualifying for Race 15 at 1315 local time/1345 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:06.0800  
2 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:06.2214 0:00.1414
3 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.2660 0:00.1860
4 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:06.3256 0:00.2456
5 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.3591 0:00.2791
6 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:06.4384 0:00.3584
7 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.4523 0:00.3723
8 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.5376 0:00.4576
9 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:06.5579 0:00.4779
10 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.5905 0:00.5105
11 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.5930 0:00.5130
12 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.6990 0:00.6190
13 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:06.7010 0:00.6210
14 8 Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.7471 0:00.6671
15 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.7493 0:00.6693
16 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:06.8500 0:00.7700
17 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.8558 0:00.7758
18 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.8821 0:00.8021
19 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:06.8845 0:00.8045
20 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:06.9644 0:00.8844
21 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:06.9709 0:00.8909
22 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:07.0887 0:01.0087
23 33 Boost Mobile Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:07.1267 0:01.0467
24 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:07.3462 0:01.2662
25 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:07.4070 0:01.3270

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]