Bright, Tander cop penalties in TCR Race 1

Tom Howard

Sunday 9th June, 2019 - 1:00pm


Jason Bright

TCR Australia has confirmed penalties for Jason Bright and Garth Tander following an incident packed Race 1 at Phillip Island.

Officials have enforced a 20 series points penalty to Bright for causing contact with Kelly Racing’s Andre Heimgartner in Saturday’s race.

The Alliance Autosport driver bumped the rear of Heimgartner’s Subaru WRX which pitched the Kiwi into a slide at Turn 3, causing a multiple car crash and the second Safety Car period.

Jimmy Vernon (GRM, Alfa Romeo) attempted to dive down the inside of the pair but made contact spinning across the road and into retirement along with Bright.  

Bright was involved in an incident early in the race when he touched Garth Tander’s Audi RS3, which went unpunished by the stewards.

Tander was however awarded a 10 second penalty after clashing with John Martin’s Wall Racing Honda on the opening lap that also forced HMO Customer Racing’s Nathan Morcom out of the race.

As a result, Tander, who came home in fifth, has now been classified in 10th position.   

Updated Results: TCR Australia Race 1, Phillip Island

1     9  Ashley Seward Motorsport       Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Alfa Romeo Giulietta 13 27:19.6614
2    30  HMO Customer Racing            William Brown (Qld)     Hyundai i30N         13 27:24.6433
3    34  Garry Rogers Motorsport        James Moffat (Vic)      Renault Megane RS    13 27:25.1912
4    50  Wall Racing                    Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Honda Civic Type R   13 27:25.4262
5    22  Melbourne Performance Centre   Hamish Ribartis (Vic)   Audi RS 3            13 27:25.9902
6    62  Kelly Racing                   Alex Rullo (WA)         Holden Astra         13 27:28.1409
7    33  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Chris Pither (NZ)       Renault Megane RS    13 27:29.2676
8     3  Melbourne Performance Centre   Leanne Tander (Vic)     Audi RS 3            13 27:29.5377
9   777  Kelly Racing                   Andre Heimgartner (NZ)  Subaru WRX STi       13 27:31.0155
10    4  Melbourne Performance Centre   Garth Tander (Vic)      Audi RS 3            13 27:35.7606
11   35  Alliance Autosport             Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Volkswagon Golf GTI  13 27:38.5079
12    2  Melbourne Performance Centre   Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Volkswagen Golf GTI  13 27:44.8503
13   24  Wall Racing                    John Martin (NSW)       Honda Civic Type R   12 28:22.6048
DNF  37  Kelly Racing                   Chelsea Angelo (Vic)    Holden Astra         10 22:38.9375
DNF   6  Kelly Racing                   Molly Taylor (NSW)      Subaru WRX STi        9 21:01.0172
DNF   8  Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Jason Bright (Vic)      Volkswagon Golf GTI   5 11:07.2387
DNF   7  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Jimmy Vernon (NSW)      Alfa Romeo Giulietta  5 11:07.7909
DNF  11  HMO Customer Racing            Nathan Morcom (NSW)     Hyundai i30N comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!