Super3 leader joins TCR Australia field 

Tom Howard

Thursday 6th June, 2019 - 4:13pm


Hamish Ribarits

Super3 series leader Hamish Ribarits will join the TCR Australia field for Round 2 at Phillip Island.

The Victorian teenager will take over the #22 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi that was previously raced by Dutchman Rik Breukers at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Ribarits has already found success at Phillip Island this year after winning a race at the opening round of Super3, which was his maiden event in a touring car.

Last year, the 19-year-old finished runner-up in the Australian Formula Ford Championship for Sonic Motor Racing Services.

Ribarits will be one of four cars fielded by the MPC squad this weekend.

Garth Tander will drive one of the two brand-new Audi RS3s, while the driver of the other new Audi is yet to be announced.

Aaron Cameron will pilot the team’s sole Volkswagen Golf.

“It is really exciting for me – a completely new avenue of racing for me,” said Ribarits.

“I’ve never driven a front wheel driver car before, so there’s a lot of learning to do, but it will be cool to drive the car on Friday and get into the racing on Saturday and Sunday.

“It’s going to be completely different to what I’m used to.

“From what I hear from other drivers, it’s difficult to get rear temperature into the tyres, but I’ll just look to learn and improve as the weekend goes on and gain experience in a completely different style of car.

”Having Garth Tander as a team-mate is going to be very beneficial for me. The amount of years that he has been racing, I’ll be able to pick up from him and use him as a benchmark.”

An 18 car grid is expected for the second round of the new touring car series following the absence of Garth Walden Racing Australia, which fielded Michael Almond in a Hyundai i30 at Sydney.

Opening practice is due to begin on Friday at midday.

The three races will broadcast live on SBS and via the Shannons Nationals live stream, carried by, on Saturday and Sunday.

Entry list: Round 2, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Team Make Driver
2 Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen Aaron Cameron
3 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi TBA
4 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi Garth Tander
22 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi Hamish Ribarits
6 Kelly Racing Subaru Molly Taylor
37 Kelly Racing Holden Chelsea Angelo
62 Kelly Racing Holden Alex Rullo
777 Kelly Racing Subaru Andre Heimgartner
7 Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Jimmy Vernon
33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault Chris Pither
34 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault James Moffat
8 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Jason Bright
35 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Alexandra Whitley
9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Dylan O’Keeffe
11 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Nathan Morcom
30 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Will Brown
24 Wall Racing Honda John Martin
50 Wall Racing Honda Tony D’Alberto comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!