WORLD WRAP: Shields gets first USF2000 win on an oval

Monday 27th May, 2019 - 3:26pm


Cameron Shields leads pic: USF2000

USF2000 Championship

Australian Cameron Shields has claimed his first victory in Road to Indy competition, and on an oval, at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.

The Toowoomba-born driver started from second position but executed an outside pass on the opening lap and went on to lead for the remainder of the 75-lap race.

Despite two Caution periods, Shields (Newman Wachs Racing) won by 1.4s and moves to sixth in the USF2000 standings, two point off second position.

New Zealand’s Hunter McElrea (Pabst Racing) could only manage 11th after crashing in qualifying and starting 19th.

He remains second in the standings but now sits 44 points behind Braden Eves (Cape Motorsports) as the series moves onto Road America for Rounds 6 and 7 on June 21-23.

Oscar Piastri pic: Oscar Piastri Racing Facebook

Formula Renault Eurocup

Oscar Piastri has dropped to third in the Formula Renault Eurocup series with results of fourth and fifth in Monaco.

Piastri started sixth in Race 1 but dropped two spots at the first corner, before getting inside Leonardo Lorandi at Rascasse and then inheriting three more positions due to various dramas for his competitors.

The R-ace GP driver was finished where he started in Race 2, which was won by Alexander Smolyar after Victor Martins took out the opener.

Martins is on top of the table with a five-point advantage over Piastri.

Races 7 and 8 are at Paul Ricard this weekend (May 31-June 2).

Jack Doohan pic: Jack Doohan Twitter

Euroformula Open

Jack Doohan picked up finishes of second and seventh in Euroformula Open at Hockenheim after an intense battle with New Zealander Liam Lawson for the minor placings in Race 1.

Opening lap drama set Doohan back in Race 2, while Lawson added a fifth placing to his Race 1 podium after a spin.

West Australian Calan Williams was the last finisher in Race 1 but got into the points with ninth in the latter encounter.

Marina Sato won the opener by five seconds and fellow Japanese driver Yuki Tsunoda by almost the same margin in Race 2.

Lawson is second to Sato in the series with Round 4 at Spa-Francorchamps on June 8-9.

Anthoine Hubert

Formula 2

Nyck de Vries won the Feature Race on the streets of Monaco before Anthoine Hubert took home a maiden victory in the Sprint Race.

The French F2 rookie fended off Carlin’s Louis Deletraz to win by just 0.059s with Renault academy driver Guanyu Zhou claiming third in an action-packed race.

In the Feature, de Vries led from lights-to-flag despite a red flag midway through due to Mick Schumacher and Tatiana Calderon tangling and blocking the track at La Rascasse.

Nicholas Latifi twice had contact in the first race and salvaged just two points all weekend for a fastest lap.

His championship over de Vries is a single point with the French Grand Prix at Circuit Paul Ricard the next stop on 21-23 June.

The #36 and #37 TOM’S Lexus LC500s pic: TOM’S Racing Facebook

Super GT

Nick Cassidy secured second position for he and co-driver Ryo Hirakawa with a bold drive in Round 3 at Suzuka.

Hirakawa started second in the #37 TOM’S Lexus and was gapped by Kazuki Nakajima in the sister #36 LC500.

Cassidy took up the reins in third after the pit stop cycle, passed Kazuya Oshima aggressively at the final chicane, but gave up the spot again with an error at 130R.

He did regain the position and help deliver a one-two for TOM’S, behind Yuhi Sekiguchi in Car #36.

Cassidy/Hirakawa are now fifth in the standings at 7.5 points off the lead on the way to Buriram on June 29-30.

Jaxon Evans pic: Jaxon Evans Facebook

Porsche Supercup

Michael Ammermuller won Round 2 of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup in lights-to-flag fashion in Monaco.

Last year’s Carrera Cup Australia series winner Jaxon Evans qualified 12th but made up three positions over the 16-lap journey in his Fach Auto Tech entry.

One of those was his own doing while the other two were due to mistakes in front of him on the Principality’s tight streets.

Of the Australians, Joey Mawson finished 13th, Stephen Grove was last finisher in 22nd (fifth in Pro-Am), and Marc Cini was outside the 107 percent in qualifying.

Round 3 takes place with Formula 1 at the Red Bull Ring on June 28-30.

Chris van der Drift

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

Kiwi Chris van der Drift bagged a second placing and a win respectively in Rounds 2 and 3 of Porsche Carrera Cup Asia at Suzuka.

His compatriot Will Bamber was first home in the Round 2 race but a five-second penalty put him back to sixth, with pole-sitter Philip Hamprecht inheriting top spot.

A Safety Car set up a thrilling three-lap green flag run to the finish in the latter race, and even though van der Drift took the chequered flag in fifth, he was elevated by a spate of penalties.

Rounds 4, 5, and 6 take place at Fuji on June 14-16.

Timmy Hansen

FIA World Rallycross Championship

Timmy Hansen claimed victory at the fourth round of the World Rallycross Championship at Silverstone.

The Swede became the first double winner this season, claiming wins in Q1 and Q2 before Audi driver Andreas Bakkerud did the same on Sunday in Q3 and Q4.

In the final, Hansen lost the lead at the first corner to Bakkerud but regained it as they cycled through their joker laps late in the piece.

Hansen leads the championship by four points to brother and fellow Peugeot driver Kevin.

The championship moves onto Norway for Round 5 at Hell on June 15-16. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!