Toby Price bags first SuperUtes race win as Woods rolls

Toby Price (Mitsubishi) and Tom Alexander (Isuzu)

Toby Price is now an ECB SuperUtes Series race winner while Craig Woods found himself on his lid in the final encounter of Round 3 at Winton.

Gerard Maggs’ Toyota Hilux was turned around by Ben Falk (Mazda BT-50) on Lap 2 of the race and with Woods unable to avoid the debutant, his own Hilux went over.

Falk’s team-mate Ryal Harris was also caught up the in the drama and had the front of his BT-50 caved in, after he had already tangled with Cameron Crick (Mitsubishi Triton) on Lap 1.

Price made it three different race winners for the weekend, his first SuperUtes outing of the season, after the Dakar Rally champion survived a one-lap dash to the finish in his Mitsubishi Triton.

Tom Alexander in the sole Isuzu D-Max finished in second while Crick stole a last-second podium from Falk, out-dragging the rookie out of the final corner.

Despite getting caught up in a clash on the first racing lap of the weekend, Alexander will take an extended series lead to Round 4 at the Watpac Townsville 400 on July 5-7.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 7 18:17.8387
2 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 7 18:18.4638
3 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 7 18:20.4747
4 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 7 18:20.5728
5 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 7 18:25.2548
6 11 Trick Trailers Keven Stoopman Holden Colorado 7 18:25.3455
7 96 Mitsubishi Motors Team Triton Jaiden Maggs Mitsubishi Triton 7 18:25.3585
8 94 Allgate Auto Doors Jeff Watters Ford Ranger 7 18:25.7337
9 72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 7 18:26.0343
10 68 Sieders Racing Team Gerard Maggs Toyota Hilux 7 18:26.7693
DNF 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 1 1:51.2390
DNF 49 Allgate Auto Doors Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 1 1:52.6407
DNF 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 1 1:52.9142

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Tom Alexander 443
2 Ryal Harris 373
3 Ben Walsh 366
4 Cameron Crick 352
5 Elliot Barbour 280
6 Michael Sieders 245
7 Benjamin Falk 233
8 Craig Woods 187
9 Christopher Formosa 153
10 Luke van Herwaarde 99
11 Adam Dodd 64
12 Gerard Maggs 58
13 Craig Thompson 54
14 Ronnie Conquest 52
15 Peter Major 48
16 Craig Dontas 19
17 Dean Canto 0
18 Gilbert Slade 0

Craig Woods rolls pic: Fox Sports

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]