Di Grassi takes comprehensive win in Berlin E-Prix

Sunday 26th May, 2019 - 8:33am


Lucas Di Grassi

Lucas Di Grassi has moved into second place in the Formula E drivers’ championship after winning the Berlin E-Prix.

Di Grassi kept his Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler car in the lead for most of the race and finished comfortably ahead of Sebastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah).

Buemi led the pack around the 2.375km Tempelhof circuit for the first five minutes before he was passed at Turn 6 by Di Grassi, who had got by Stoffel Vandoorne (HWA Racelab) at the same corner, three laps earlier on Lap 3.

Di Grassi quickly built his lead to more than a second and was not challenged from that point.

Vergne fought his way through from eighth on the grid to be challenging Buemi by the chequered flag in what was one of the drives of the day.

The race had been shaken up with 15 minutes remaining due to Alex Lynn coming to a halt when his Jaguar’s axle seized, triggering a Full Course Yellow.

Lynn had spent many laps fighting with Daniel Abt (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) for fifth prior to that drama.

Most drivers took advantage of the yellow flag to use their remaining attack modes, with nine minutes of the scheduled 45 having remained when the green flag came.

Di Grassi set the fastest lap late in the race to reinforce his lead and, with only six minutes to, go Vergne went on the inside of Antonio Felix da Costa (BMW Andretti), the two slightly touched, Vergne got the better line, and grabbed third.

The final few laps of the race proved quite static but with only two laps to go, Vergne had a higher percentage of power left compared to Di Grassi and Buemi.

He chased them strongly but could not find a way pass Buemi.

New Zealander Mitch Evans finished 12th from 18th on the grid in his Jaguar.

Di Grassi’s win puts him back in the championship fight and makes him the second double winner of the year.

“It is very nice to be fighting for the championship, but there are five, six, seven guys who are also fighting for the championship, so we will just do the best job we can,” he said.

It was Buemi’s first podium this season, and he stated: “It is good, I can’t believe it is only my first one… today we were not quite as quick as Lucas, and maybe not as efficient.”

The next race is the Swiss E-Prix in Bern on June 22.

Race results: Race 10, Berlin

Pos Driver Team Laps Race time/Split
1 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 37 47:02.477
2 Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 37 +1.856
3 Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 37 +2.522
4 António Félix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 37 +5.845
5 Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 37 +6.336
6 Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 37 +6.551
7 Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 37 +8.235
8 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 37 +10.781
9 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 37 +13.153
10 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 37 +14.846
11 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 37 +15.377
12 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 37 +17.688
13 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 37 +21.197
14 Maximilian Günther Geox Dragon 37 +26.154
15 Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 37 +26.684
16 Gary Paffett HWA Racelab 37 +27.718
17 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 37 +27.729
18 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 37 +32.117
19 Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 37 +33.706
20 José María López Geox Dragon 37 +46.895
DNF André Lotterer DS Techeetah 28  
DNF Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 23  

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jean-Éric Vergne 102
2 Lucas Di Grassi 96
3 André Lotterer 86
4 António Félix da Costa 82
5 Robin Frijns 81
6 Mitch Evans 69
7 Daniel Abt 67
8 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 65
9 Oliver Rowland 63
10 Sébastien Buemi 61
11 Sam Bird 56
12 Edoardo Mortara 52
13 Pascal Wehrlein 52
14 Felipe Massa 32
15 Stoffel Vandoorne 30
16 Alexander Sims 24
17 Maximilian Günther 10
18 Gary Paffett 8
19 Oliver Turvey 6
20 Alex Lynn 4
21 José María López 3
22 Nelson Piquet Jnr 1
23 Tom Dillmann 0
24 Felipe Nasr 0
25 Felix Rosenqvist 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!