Harris slices through the field to take SuperUtes Race 2 win

Ryal Harris heads Tom Alexander

Ryal Harris has stormed to victory in Race 2 of Round 3 of the ECB SuperUtes Series at Winton, ahead of Tom Alexander.

Despite the challenge of the greasy conditions, Harris sliced his Mazda BT-50 through the field in impeccable fashion after starting the race from 11th on the reversed grid.

Alexander finished four tenths back in second in his Isuzu D-Max, while Mitsubishi Triton driver Toby Price fought his way back to the podium places after a post-race penalty was issued to the Dakar Rally champion following the morning race.

The winner of that encounter, Cameron Crick claimed fourth position in his Triton from the back of the grid while Craig Woods (Toyota Hilux) finished the race in fifth after starting from first.

Ben Falk crossed the line with the second BT-50 in sixth after losing control of his car in the front-running pack with only a handful of laps to go.

Ben Walsh (Hilux), Keven Stoopman (Holden Colorado), Christopher Formosa (Ford Ranger) and Gerard Maggs (Hilux) rounded out the top 10.

Craig Thompson crossed the line in 11th after carrying a loose front bumper on his Hilux, which he sustained from contact in the opening stages of the race.

Crick will be joined by Harris on the front row of the grid for tomorrow’s race, which starts at 1035 local time/AEST.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 12 20:41.9487
2 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 12 20:42.3558
3 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 12 20:48.9174
4 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 12 20:49.1391
5 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 12 20:54.6494
6 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 12 21:08.8021
7 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 12 21:09.8080
8 11 Trick Trailers Keven Stoopman Holden Colorado 12 21:13.8096
9 49 Allgate Auto Doors Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 12 21:21.6049
10 68 Sieders Racing Team Gerard Maggs Toyota Hilux 12 21:30.2977
11 72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 12 21:32.1063
12 96 Mitsubishi Motors Team Triton Jaiden Maggs Mitsubishi Triton 12 21:32.6541
13 94 Allgate Auto Doors Jeff Watters Ford Ranger 12 21:37.3806

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]