Brown takes the spoils in frantic Race 3

Tom Howard

Sunday 19th May, 2019 - 3:02pm


Will Brown

Will Brown has taken his second TCR Australia victory after coming through a hectic Race 3 at Sydney Motorsport Park.  

After taking the spoils in Race 2, the HMO Customer Racing driver dropped from pole position to third in the early laps but fought back to take the win by 2.6s from Dylan O’Keeffe (Alfa Romeo).  

Michael Almond (Hyundai) powered from seventh on the grid to the final place on the podium,

O’Keeffe (Alfa Romeo) made another great start as pole-sitter and Race 2 winner Brown (Hyundai) was swamped at the start from both sides.

Tony D’Alberto (Honda) held third into Turn 1 but a bump on Brown pushed them both wide at Turn 2 and allowed the fast starting Heimgartner through to second, having started from fifth.

Brown held third with D’Alberto close behind in fourth.  

However the race was halted before the end of the opening lap due to a start-line incident involving Rik Breukers (Audi) and Jimmy Vernon (Alfa Romeo) which put the pair out of the race.  

The race restarted on Lap 5 with O’Keeffe at the head of the field in front of Heimgartner and Brown.

A three-way battle for the lead developed with Heimgartner sizing up O’Keeffe before his challenge came to an abrupt halt when a mechanical issue struck his Subaru, forcing him to park the car.

That left O’Keeffe and Brown to fight for the lead with John Martin in third. 

Meanwhile, there was plenty of action behind as Michael Almond squeezed his way past D’Alberto  at Turn 2 before then finding his way into third with a move on the sister Wall Racing Honda of Martin.

Martin’s hopes of a strong result soon came to an end when he fired off the road backwards following contact from Nathan Morcom (Hyundai) at the penultimate corner on Lap 8.

Moments later the lead changed as Brown passed O’Keeffe for the second time today.

Once in front, Brown galloped away from O’Keeffe and went on to take the win after 14 of the scheduled 16 laps due to the early Safety Car. 

Morcom finished in fourth after further controversial contact with D’Alberto at the hairpin in the closing stages which dropped the later to seventh at the flag.

However, stewards deemed Morcom to be at fault for both incidents with D’Alberto and Martin and a further clash with Bright at Turn 1.

The former Super2 and Australian GT driver was issued with three penalties totalling 60 seconds demoting him to 11th spot.

Therefore, Aaron Cameron (Volkswagen Golf) inherits fourth ahead of James Moffat (Renault) in fifth. 

The top 10 was rounded out by Jason Bright (Volkswagen Golf), Chris Pither (Renault), Alex Rullo (Holden/Opel) and Alexandra Whitley (Volkswagen).

Brown (122) leads the championship standings by 12 points from O’Keeffe (110) with D’Alberto (99) in third.

Results: TCR Australia Race 3, Sydney Motorsport Park

1    30  HMO Customer Racing             Will Brown (QLD)       Hyundai I30N         14 26:55.1637
2     9  Ashley Seward Motorsport        Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC)   Alfa Romeo Giulietta 14 26:57.7711
3    29  Astron Tech / Garth Walden Racing  Michael Almond (SA)    Hyundai I30N         14 26:59.9677
4     2  Melbourne Performance           Aaron Cameron (VIC)    Volkswagen Golf GTI  14 27:02.0298
5    34  Garry Rogers Motorsport         James Moffat (VIC)     Renault Megane RS    14 27:02.2844
6    50  Wall Racing                     Tony D’Alberto (VIC)   Honda Civic Type R   14 27:03.0246
7     8  Taskforce / Alliance Autosport  Jason Bright (VIC)     Volkswagen Golf GTI  14 27:03.1835
8    33  Garry Rogers Motorsport         Chris Pither (NZ)      Renault Megane RS    14 27:08.3498
9    62  Kelly Racing                    Alex Rullo (WA)        Holden Astra         14 27:09.4618
10   35  Alliance Autosport              Alexandra Whitley (QLD) Volkswagen Golf GTI   14  27:15.3608 
11   11  HMO Customer Racing             Nathan Morcom (NSW)    Hyundai I30N         14 28:01.4252
12    6  Kelly Racing                    Molly Taylor (NSW)     Subaru WRX STI       14 28:28.3733
DNF  24  Wall Racing                     John Martin (NSW)      Honda Civic Type R    7 15:40.1296
DNF  37  Kelly Racing                    Chelsea Angelo (VIC)   Holden Astra          7 15:55.3620
DNF 777  Kelly Racing                    Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Subaru WRX STI        5 12:24.8661
DNF   7  Garry Rogers Motorsport         Jimmy Vernon (NSW)     Alfa Romeo Giulietta
DNF  22  TCR SPA 500 / Melbourne Performance  Rik Breukers (NED)     Audi RS 3    comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!