Brown overcomes O’Keeffe in TCR Aus Race 2

Tom Howard

Sunday 19th May, 2019 - 2:05pm


Will Brown headed Dylan O’Keeffe in TCR Australia Race 2

Will Brown produced an impressive drive to overcome Dylan O’Keeffe to win a hard fought Race 2 in TCR Australia at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The HMO Customer Racing driver made a strong start from third to hold second by the opening lap, before setting his sights on the fast starting O’Keeffe, who leapt to the lead from fourth.

The Super2 star hunted down O’Keeffe before eventually passing the Alfa Romeo at Turn 7 on Lap 13 after a brief Safety Car period.

Brown then powered on to take the victory from O’Keefe by 3.16s, while the Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R of Tony D’Alberto rounded out the podium.          

Polesitter and yesterday’s race winner Jason Bright was swallowed up at the start as Wall Racing’s Honda Tony D’Alberto led the field into Turn 1, but was under pressure from O’Keefe, who made a lightening start from fourth.

O’Keeffe’s momentum saw him dive by D’Alberto to take the lead by the time the field reached Turn 3.

Behind, Brown held third on the opening lap before going on to pass D’Alberto for second on Lap 3.

Meanwhile, O’Keeffe had moved into a two-second lead by Lap 5 but that advantage was quickly eaten into by Brown, who latched onto the tail of the Alfa Romeo.

Brown shadowed O’Keeffe until the race was neutralised by the Safety Car when Alliance Autosport’s Alexandra Whitley beached the Volkswagen Golf at Turn 6 on Lap 9.

The top two had built a 2.2s gap over the third-placed D’Alberto before the stoppage. 

O’Keeffe made a strong restart but it didn’t take long for Brown to make a move for the lead which came off at Turn 7 with three laps remaining.

As Brown went on to take the win, D’Alberto managed to fend off Race 1 winner Jason Bright (Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Golf) for the final place on the podium.

Kelly Racing’s Andre Heimgartner (Subaru) came home in fifth having surged from 10th to sixth in the opening laps.

The Kiwi passed the sister Wall Racing Honda of John Martin on the lap 11 restart at Turn 2 to grab fifth, where he remained until the finish.

After a spirited battle Friday pacesetter, Michael Almond (Hyundai) finished seventh ahead of Nathan Morcom (Hyundai) and Jimmy Vernon (Alfa Romeo), while Aaron Cameron (Volkswagen Golf) rounded out the top 10. 

An issue for Rik Breukers (Audi) pushed him down to 11th while James Moffat (Renault) recovered from an early off to come back to 12th spot, in front of Alex Rullo (Holden/Opel), Chelsea Angelo (Holden/Opel) and Molly Taylor (Subaru). 

TCR Australia Race 3 is scheduled to begin at 1420 with teams only allowed to work on the cars for 20 minutes in between races.

Results: TCR Australia Race 2, Sydney Motorsport Park

1    30  HMO Customer Racing            Will Brown (QLD)       Hyundai I30N         16 27:02.7868  
2     9  Ashley Seward Motorsport       Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC)   Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 27:05.9468  
3    50  Wall Racing                    Tony D’Alberto (VIC)   Honda Civic Type R   16 27:06.9494  
4     8  Taskforce / Alliance Autosport Jason Bright (VIC)     Volkswagen Golf GTI  16 27:07.3529  
5   777  Kelly Racing                   Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Subaru WRX STI       16 27:10.7634  
6    24  Wall Racing                    John Martin (NSW)      Honda Civic Type R   16 27:11.2266  
7    29  Astron Tech / Garth Walden Racing Michael Almond (SA)    Hyundai I30N         16 27:11.9205  
8    11  HMO Customer Racing            Nathan Morcom (NSW)    Hyundai I30N         16 27:12.8234  
9     7  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Jimmy Vernon (NSW)     Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 27:18.7323  
10    2  Melbourne Performance          Aaron Cameron (VIC)    Volkswagen Golf GTI  16 27:19.0084  
11   22  TCR SPA 500 / Melbourne Performance Rik Breukers (NED)     Audi RS 3            16 27:19.3153  
12   34  Garry Rogers Motorsport        James Moffat (VIC)     Renault Megane RS    16 27:19.7082  
13   62  Kelly Racing                   Alex Rullo (WA)        Holden Astra         16 27:20.2189  
14   37  Kelly Racing                   Chelsea Angelo (VIC)   Holden Astra         16 27:24.0419  
15    6  Kelly Racing                   Molly Taylor (NSW)     Subaru WRX STI       16 27:25.0330  
16   35  Alliance Autosport             Alexandra Whitley (QLD) Volkswagen Golf GTI   15  28:07.7492   
DNF  33  Garry Rogers Motorsport        Chris Pither (NZ)      Renault Megane RS    13 23:42.4954 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!