FEATURE: Your guide to TCR Australia

The TCR Australia 2019 grid

Australia’s newest touring car series will burst onto the motorsport landscape with the inaugural round of TCR Australia at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.

Speedcafe.com has put together the below introductory guide to understand all things TCR Australia.

TCR is hugely popular in Europe

What is TCR?

TCR simply stands for ‘Touring Car Racing’ and is the brainchild of former World Touring Car Championship promoter Marcello Lotti.

The Italian created the TCR set of regulations with the aim of producing a cost effective touring car class while still involving manufacturers.

Lotti tapped into the successful GT3 racing model that has attracted multiple manufacturers to create cars to be sold to customers and raced all over the world.

The TCR formula is based around production-based turbo-charged two litre, four cylinder, front wheel drive hatchbacks and sedans.

In 2015 the category successfully launched and has since been adopted all over the world, culminating in the formation of several international and national series.

TCR Australia will be contested over seven rounds as part of the Shannons Nationals program.   


Wall Racing will run Honda Civics for Tony D’Alberto and John Martin

The TCR platform has seen 14 manufacturers develop bespoke race cars to compete in the category with eight of those represented on the TCR Australia grid. 

Audi, Alfa Romeo, Honda, Hyundai, Opel/Holden, Renault, Subaru and Volkswagen all feature in TCR Australia.

Homologated marques/cars include; Audi (RS3 LMS TCR), SEAT (Leon TCR), Volkswagen (Golf GTi TCR), Alfa Romeo (Giulietta TCR), Honda (Civic Type R TCR), Lynk & Co (03 TCR), Kia (Cee’d GT TCR), Lada (Vesta TCR), Opel/Holden (Astra TCR), Peugeot (308 TCR), Renault (Megane TCR), Hyundai (i30N TCR), CUPRA TCR, and Subaru (WRX STi TCR).

TCR Australia Calendar

Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, May 17-19
Round 2: Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, June 6-9
Round 3: The Bend Motorsport Park, July 12-14
Round 4: Queensland Raceway, August 2-4
Round 5: Winton, August 31 -September 1
Round 6: Sandown International Motor Raceway, September 20-22
Round 7: The Bend Motorsport Park, November 15-17

Entry List

Num Team Make Driver
2 Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen Aaron Cameron
22 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi Rik Breukers (Round 1 only)
6 Kelly Racing Subaru Molly Taylor
37 Kelly Racing Holden Chelsea Angelo
62 Kelly Racing Holden Alex Rullo
777 Kelly Racing Subaru Andre Heimgartner
7 Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Jimmy Vernon
33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault Chris Pither
34 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault James Moffat
8 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Jason Bright
35 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Alexandra Whitley
9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Dylan O’Keeffe
11 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Nathan Morcom
30 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Will Brown
24 Wall Racing Honda John Martin
50 Wall Racing Honda Tony D’Alberto
29 Garth Walden Racing Australia Hyundai Michael Almond (Round 1 only)

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Renault supported Megane for Chris Pither

Factory Involvement

TCR Series rules stipulate that fully-fledged factory owned entries are prohibited, however, car manufacturers are encouraged to support its cars entered by professional or private teams.

Honda Australia and Renault Australia have offered minor support to Wall Racing’s Civic Type Rs and Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Meganes in TCR Australia. 


A TCR race car costs in the region of $200,000 excluding spares. Customers can expect cars to be imported to Australia within 10 days depending on the manufacturer

Race Format

Jason Bright’s Volkswagen Golf GTI

TCR Australia race weekends will be contested over three 30-minute sprint races.

Competitors will participate in two 30-minute practice sessions on Friday.

A single 30-minute qualifying session will set the grid for Race 1. Progressive grids will be in use for Races 2 and 3.

On Sundays, only 30 minutes will be allowed between the end of Race 2 and the closure of pit lane for the start of Race 3, with the added challenge of a 10-minute parc ferme period following Race 2.

Teams will therefore have only the 20 minutes, at which time cars must be parked at 45 degrees on the pit apron, to effect any repairs between races.

Refuelling is not permitted but tank capacity covers the two races, and any other work is allowed.      

TCR Australia will be run on control Michelin tyres


TCR Australia competitors will run on control Michelin tyres.

Each car will be handed 10 hard compound Michelin slick tyres for a race weekend, with a new set required to be run in qualifying and two new tyres in each of Races 1 and 2.

Points System

Pos Qual Race 1 Race 2 Race 3
1st 2 40 40 50
2nd 36 36 46
3rd 32 32 42
4th 28 28 38
5th 26 26 36
6th 24 24 31
7th 22 22 29
8th 20 20 27
9th 18 18 25
10th 16 16 23
11th 14 14 19
12th 13 13 18
13th 12 12 17
14th 11 11 16
15th 10 10 15
16th 9 9 12
17th 8 8 11
18th 7 7 10
19th 6 6 9
20th 5 5 8
DNF 0 0 0

TCR Australia will offer a unique points system

Prize Pool

The overall winner is set to pocket $100,000 with $50,000 and $25,000 on offer for second and third in the standings respectively.

Meanwhile, the winner of the Michelin Cup for privateer entries will also receive $25,000 in prize money.

There will also be an ‘emerging talent’ component that will provide a selected driver an opportunity within the global TCR platform.

Pole position winners at each round will also be awarded $1,000.

The top eight overall in the series standings will earn Supercars Superlicence points.  

Television Coverage

All seven rounds of TCR Australia will be broadcast live on free-to-air network SBS. It will also be broadcast via Shannons Nationals’ live streaming service which will be carried by www.speedcafe.com.

Round 1 Sydney Motorsport Park Schedule

Saturday May 18 – 1400-1500 (AEST)
Sunday May 19 – 1300- 1500 (AEST)

TCR Regulations 

Eligible cars: 4/5-door vehicles
Body shell: Reinforced production body shell; wheel arch modifications allowed to accommodate tyres
Minimum weight: 1250kg for cars with production gearbox, 1285kg for cars with racing gearbox (both including the driver)Minimum overall length: 4.20 metres
Maximum overall width: 1.95 metres
Engine: Turbo-charged petrol or diesel up to 2.0-litre
Torque: 420Nm
Power: 260kW
Lubrication: Wet sump
Exhaust: Homologated catalytic converter using production parts
Traction: On two wheels
Gearbox: Production or TCR International Series sequential; production paddle shift accepted
Front Suspension: Production lay-out; parts free design
Rear Suspension: Original design of production car with reinforced components
Brakes: Front: maximum 6 piston calipers, brake discs maximum diameter 380mm
Rear: maximum 2 piston callipers; production ABS accepted
Wheels: Maximum dimensions of rim: 10″ x 18”.

TCR Grid Card

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]