Mazepin puts Mercedes fastest on Day 2 of F1 test

Mat Coch

Thursday 16th May, 2019 - 10:11am


Nikita Mazepin

Nikita Mazepin set the fastest time on the second and final day of Formula 1 testing in Barcelona on his track debut with Mercedes.

The 20-year-old Russian worked through a mixed program that saw him end the day 1.3 seconds faster than Alex Albon in the Toro Rosso.

Third fastest was Antonio Fuoco for Ferrari, his first experience of a current-spec F1 machine, at just over 1.5 seconds slower than Mazepin.

Mazepin spent the morning working through a series of long runs, before switching to short runs in the afternoon.

It saw him bank 128 laps over the course of the day, which saw a number of red flags as drivers stopped on track, though all were recovered without incident.

A total of 13 drivers were in action, Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) and Lance Stroll (Racing Point) performing tyre testing for Pirelli.

Leclerc set the fourth best time of the day, little more than half a tenth off Fuoco’s pace, with Kimi Raikkonen fifth best for Alfa Romeo.

Only five regular drivers took to the circuit, Albon, Leclerc, Raikkonen, Kevin Magnussen, and Stroll, with most teams giving track time to rookies.

Renault employed Jack Aitken, the Brit sixth fastest for Renault with 75 laps to his name.

Aside from the McLaren pair of Sergio Sette Camara and Oliver Turvey it was the fewest of any driver for the day.

Red Bull’s Dan Ticktum was only marginally better with a total of 79 laps, with Mazepin the busiest of all.

Pirelli made the most of its opportunity, recording 236 laps between Leclerc and Stroll as it already begins to look at developing its 2021 tyres.

Behind Magnussen was Nick Yelloly for Racing Point, Latifi for Williams, and Ticktum for Red Bull rounding out the ten.

Results: Formula 1 Barcelona testing, Day 2

Pos Driver Team Time Diff Laps
1 Nikita Mazepin Mercedes 1:15.775 128
2 Alexander Albon Toro Rosso 1:17.079 1.304s 109
3 Antonio Fuoco Ferrari 1:17.284 1.509s 120
4 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:17.349 1.574s 127
5 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo 1:17.393 1.618s 110
6 Jack Aitken Renault 1:17.621 1.846s 75
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:18.101 2.326s 106
8 Nick Yelloly Racing Point 1:18.212 2.437s 83
9 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:18.573 2.798s 88
10 Dan Ticktum Red Bull 1:19.458 3.683s 79
11 Oliver Turvey McLaren 1:20.712 4.937s 52
12 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:20.745 4.970s 119
13 Sergio Sette Camara McLaren 1:21.565 5.790s 19 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!