Heimgartner TCR Australia Subaru revealed

Andre Heimgartner’s TCR Australia Subaru WRX

Kelly Racing has taken the covers off the Subaru that Andre Heimgartner will drive in TCR Australia.

The New Zealander, who is the first Supercars full-timer to join the TCR grid, will race a WRX TCR machine backed by Kangan Institute, one of Victoria’s largest providers of apprenticeship and traineeship training across a range of industries.

Kangan Institute, through its motorsport program, currently provide opportunities for trainees to work within Kelly Racing across is full breadth of motorsport, which encompasses four Supercars and four TCR cars.

The brand has previously appeared on Kelly Racing’s Nissan Altimas in Supercars. 

Heimgartner’s car will sport an eye catching white, yellow and black colour scheme which made its debut during a test day at Winton on Wednesday. 

“It is terrific to extend the Kangan Institute program across to TCR having worked with them in Supercars since my time with Kelly Racing,” said Heimgartner.

“We’ve had some great success together on track through the Supercar program and I hope to deliver them the same in TCR starting this weekend.”

Its reveal follows the unveiling of Kelly Racing entries for Molly Taylor (Subaru) and Alex Rullo (Holden/Opel Astra) both of which are backed by oil giant Castrol.

The team is yet to reveal the livery for its second Astra to be piloted by Chelsea Angelo.

TCR Australia will host its inaugural round at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend which will feature a 17 car grid.

All seven rounds of the new touring car class will be broadcast live on SBS and via the Shannons Nationals’ live streaming service which will be carried by Speedcafe.com.   

Entry list: Round 1, Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Team Make Driver
2 Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen Aaron Cameron
22 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi Rik Breukers (Round 1 only)
6 Kelly Racing Subaru Molly Taylor
37 Kelly Racing Holden (formerly Opel) Chelsea Angelo
62 Kelly Racing Holden (formerly Opel) Alex Rullo
777 Kelly Racing Subaru Andre Heimgartner
7 Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Jimmy Vernon
33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault Chris Pither
34 Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault James Moffat
8 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Jason Bright
35 Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Alexandra Whitley
9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Dylan O’Keeffe
11 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Nathan Morcom
30 HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Will Brown
24 Wall Racing Honda John Martin
50 Wall Racing Honda Tony D’Alberto
29 Garth Walden Racing Australia Hyundai Michael Almond (Round 1 only)

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]