Heimgartner completes Kelly Racing TCR Aus squad

Andre Heimgartner pic: AJP Photography

Andre Heimgartner will contest the TCR Australia Series for Kelly Racing alongside his Supercars commitments.   

The Supercars driver has been enlisted to pilot the squad’s second Subaru WRX STI, completing the line-up at the four car squad ahead of this weekend’s TCR Australia curtain raiser.   

Heimgartner becomes the 15th driver confirmed on the grid and will join Australian Rally Champion Molly Taylor in the other Subaru, while Alex Rullo and Chelsea Angelo will steer the Kelly Racing’s two Opel Astra TCR cars.

The New Zealander will dovetail the seven round TCR Australia season around his Supercars campaign, driving the Plus Fitness backed Kelly Racing Nissan Altima that has already yielded a maiden podium finish.

TCR is Heimgartner’s first foray into front-wheel drive touring car racing but he was on hand at the category’s official test day at Winton to assist with car set-up last week.

“It’s an interesting new category and to be given the opportunity by Kelly Racing who I already have a great relationship with is really exciting,” said Heimgartner, who is the first Supercars full-timer to add TCR Australia to his 2019 schedule. 

“All of the cars are front wheel-drive which is something new to me. I’ve only ever raced in rear-wheel drive categories so I’m looking forward to taking on the new challenge and getting to grips with a new type of race car.

“There are a lot of really high-level drivers in the category and some of them I’ve raced with before so I’m keen to get out there and start racing alongside them in Sydney this weekend.”

Heimgartner is set to pilot the Subaru during a test day at Winton on Wednesday ahead of this weekend’s Sydney Motorsport Park season opener.

All rounds of the TCR Australia will be broadcast live on SBS and via the series’ live streaming service.    

Entry list: Round 1, Sydney Motorsport Park

Team Make Driver
Melbourne Performance Centre Audi Rik Breukers
Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen TBA
Wall Racing Honda Tony D’Alberto
Wall Racing Honda John Martin
HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Nathan Morcom
HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Will Brown
Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Jason Bright
Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Alexandra Whitley
Garth Walden Racing Australia Hyundai TBA
Garth Walden Racing Australia Hyundai TBA
Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Dylan O’Keeffe
Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Jimmy Vernon
Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault Chris Pither
Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault James Moffat
Kelly Racing Subaru Molly Taylor
Kelly Racing Subaru Andre Heimgartner
Kelly Racing Opel Alex Rullo
Kelly Racing Opel Chelsea Angelo

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]