GWR to field Hyundai for Almond in TCR Aus opener

Tom Howard

Tuesday 14th May, 2019 - 5:00pm


Michael Almond

The TCR Australia grid has grown to 16 cars for this weekend’s inaugural round following confirmation Garth Walden Racing Australia will field an entry for Michael Almond.

Almond is set to pilot the #29 i30 TCR machine which is one of two Hyundais purchased by the Sydney-based squad.

The South Australian driver is an experienced campaigner having competed in six seasons of Porsche Carrera Cup Australia alongside outings in Touring Cars Masters and the now defunct V8 Utes. 

Almond will be the third Hyundai represented on the grid joining the HMO Customer Racing cars of Nathan Morcom and Will Brown.   

The arrangement at this stage is only for this weekend’s season opener at Sydney Motorsport.

“It’s just for one event at the moment, but we’ll see how we goes. If everyone gets excited and get more support, we’ll have a look and see if we can finish the season,” said Almond.

“The cars have the paddle shift gearbox and a really nice Michelin tyre. Both of these things I’ll be used to from my Porsche racing. I’ve haven’t done much front-wheel drive racing, but the recipe is there to have some fun so I’m really looking forward to it.”

Team owner Garth Walden has welcomed Almond to the squad while confirming that his outfit will only enter one of its cars this weekend. 

“It’s going to be great to be part of history – the first round of TCR in Australia. I’m getting plenty of calls and messages about it, so I reckon they’ll be a big crowd there,” said Walden.

“It’s fantastic to have Michael Almond as the driver. He has been part of our team as a driver coach for a number of years and it’s good to have him in the race seat.

“He has raced in many categories and I’m confident that he’ll adapt to the front wheel drive TCR car quickly.

“It’s a shame that we’ll have our other Hyundai in the garage for this event, but we expect to get it out for Round 2 at Phillip Island.”

All seven rounds of the TCR Australia Series will be broadcast live on SBS and via the series’ live streaming service.       

Entry list: Round 1, Sydney Motorsport Park

Team Make Driver
Melbourne Performance Centre #22 Audi Rik Breukers
Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen TBA
Wall Racing #50 Honda Tony D’Alberto
Wall Racing #24 Honda John Martin
HMO Customer Racing #11 Hyundai Nathan Morcom
HMO Customer Racing #30 Hyundai Will Brown
Alliance Autosport #8 Volkswagen Jason Bright
Alliance Autosport #35 Volkswagen Alexandra Whitley
Garth Walden Racing Australia #29 Hyundai Michael Almond
Ashley Seward Motorsport #9 Alfa Romeo Dylan O’Keeffe
Garry Rogers Motorsport #7 Alfa Romeo Jimmy Vernon
Garry Rogers Motorsport #33 Renault Chris Pither
Garry Rogers Motorsport #34 Renault James Moffat
Kelly Racing #6 Subaru Molly Taylor
Kelly Racing #777 Subaru Andre Heimgartner
Kelly Racing #62 Opel Alex Rullo
Kelly Racing #37 Opel Chelsea Angelo comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!