Tanak wins in Chile as Ogier takes championship lead

Ott Tanak

Ott Tanak has secured his second event win of the season as Sebastien Ogier moved into top spot in the World Rally Championship in Chile.

That pair ran first and second respectively from Special Stage 2 until the 16th and final stage of Rally Chile, and each leapfrogged Thierry Neuville in the drivers’ standings after the Hyundai driver’s huge rollover on SS8.

Tanak won six stages in his Toyota Yaris, including the Power Stage, to collect a maximum 30 points from the sixth round of the campaign.

The Estonian spent most of Saturday 30 seconds up on Ogier and ultimately won the rally by 23.1s.

“It was a very difficult and demanding weekend and I needed a lot of focus and energy to be perfect,” said Tanak.

“We weren’t on the limit all the time. We’ve had two setbacks in a row before this where we lost the rally lead, but we proved we’re back in the fight.”

Ogier’s hold on second position on the Chile leaderboard came under threat from Neuville at various times during the Friday and Saturday before the Belgian crashed his i20.

Jari-Matti Latvala also closed in on the Citroen driver only for his Toyota to suffer a driveshaft problem late on the penultimate day.

Sebastien Loeb then threw down the challenge to his compatriot and fellow championship winner, moving 1.1s behind Ogier on the first stage of Sunday.

Ogier responded with a win on the next stage (Lircay), Loeb won SS15, before Ogier secured four Power Stage points and made sure of the second placing for the rally.

Loeb’s deficit to Ogier was 7.1s in the end, as the Frenchman secured his first podium for Hyundai and finished fourth in the Power Stage.

Elfyn Evans made it four teams in the top four and finished one spot ahead of M-Sport Ford team-mate Teemu Suninen.

Esapekka Lappi was sixth overall in his Citroen after a spin on the Power Stage, ahead of the second Hyundai of Andreas Mikkelsen.

Kris Meeke rolled his Yaris on SS7, the first of Saturday, but completed the loop and went on to take eighth in the rally and a Power Stage point.

WRC2 Pro competitors filled out the top 10 with Kalle Rovanpera (Skoda) beating Mads Ostberg (Citroen) to the class win.

Latvala was 11th outright but did grab three Power Stage points.

Ogier leads the title race on 122 points, from Tanak on 112 and Neuville still on 110, while Meeke is 51 points further back.

The seventh round of 14 is Rally de Portugal on May 30-June 2.

UPDATE: Meeke penalised 1 minute for working on windscreen in time control.

Rally Chile: Results (Top 10) Updated

Pos Num Driver Team Elig Grp cls Time/Gap
1 8 O. TÄNAK Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT M RC1 3:15:53.8
2 1 S. OGIER Citroen Total WRT M RC1 +23.1
3 19 S. LOEB Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT M RC1 +30.2
4 33 E. EVANS M-Sport Ford World Rally Team M RC1 +1:36.7
5 3 T. SUNINEN M-Sport Ford World Rally Team M RC1 +3:15.6
6 4 E. LAPPI Citroen Total WRT M RC1 +3:45.4
7 89 A. MIKKELSEN Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT M RC1 +4:39.0
8 22 K. ROVANPERÄ Skoda Motorsport WRC2Pro RC2 +7:52.5
9 23 M. OSTBERG Citroen Total WRC2Pro RC2 +8:16.1
10 5 K. MEEKE Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT M RC1 +8:33.4

Rally Chile: Power Stage (Bonus points)

Pos Num Driver Team Time/Gap Bonus
1 8 Ott TÄNAK Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT 7:57.3 5
2 1 Sébastien OGIER Citroen Total WRT +1.3 4
3 10 Jari-Matti LATVALA Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT +3.1 3
4 19 Sébastien LOEB Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT +3.8 2
5 5 Kris MEEKE Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT +3.9 1

Drivers’ championship Updated

Pos Driver Nat Pts
1 Sébastien OGIER FRA 122
2 Ott TÄNAK EST 112
3 Thierry NEUVILLE BEL 110
4 Kris MEEKE GBR 56
5 Elfyn EVANS GBR 55
6 Sébastien LOEB FRA 39
7 Andreas MIKKELSEN NOR 36
8 Esapekka LAPPI FIN 34
9 Jari-Matti LATVALA FIN 32
10 Teemu SUNINEN FIN 30
11 Dani SORDO ESP 26
12 Benito GUERRA MEX 8
14 Marco BULACIA BOL 6
16 Pontus TIDEMAND SWE 4
17 Yoann BONATO FRA 4
19 Stéphane SARRAZIN FRA 2
20 Ole Christian VEIBY NOR 2
21 Adrien FOURMAUX FRA 1
22 Janne TUOHINO FIN 1
24 Pedro HELLER CHI 1
25 Guillaume DE MEVIUS BEL 0
26 Lorenzo BERTELLI ITA 0
27 Marcus GRÖNHOLM FIN 0

Manufacturers’ championship

Pos Team Pts
1 Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT 178
2 Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT
3 Citroen Total WRT 143
4 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 100

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]