Rookie Quartararo on pole in SRT one-two at Jerez

Fabio Quartararo and Franco Morbidelli pic:

Rookie Fabio Quartararo has qualified on pole for the Spanish MotoGP while Franco Morbidelli made it a one-two ahead of their satellite Yamaha team’s fourth race in the premier class.

Quartararo became the youngest premier class pole-sitter in history with a 1:36.880s at Jerez, and the Petronas SRT duo will be joined on the front row by Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez.

Valentino Rossi and Jack Miller, however, failed to make Qualifying 2 and will line up 13th and 15th on the grid, respectively.

Marquez laid down a 1:36.970s at the first time of asking in qualifying and while the world champion opted for a two-stop strategy, a slight moment on his second run and a near crash at Turn 7 on his third meant there would be no improvement for #93.

Morbidelli was in fact second-fastest at the end of the first runs by just 0.041s before his 20-year-old French team-mate went to the top at the start of his second run.

As it turned out, Morbidelli had already done enough to qualify on the front row but he went one better in clocking a 1:36.962s in the 15th and final minute of Q2.

Andrea Dovizioso qualified fourth with a 1:37.018s on his Mission Winnow Ducati and will be joined on Row 2 by Maverick Viñales, who came from Qualifying 1 on his Monster Energy Yamaha, and Castrol LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow.

Row 3 will be the second factory Ducati of Danilo Petrucci, the older-spec Idemitsu LCR Honda of Takaaki Nakagami, and last start winner Alex Rins of Team Suzuki Ecstar.

Francesco Bagnaia took his GP18 Pramac Ducati to 10th on the grid at 0.504s off the pace, and is set to start alongside Jorge Lorenzo and Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar).

Lorenzo dropped his Repsol Honda while ninth during the second runs, while Petrucci went down at Turn 1 near the end of the session.

With Viñales, Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha), and Miller (Pramac Ducati) all going into Qualifying 1, at least one of the usual suspects would fail to make the second stanza.

As it turned out, the latter two both missed out when Rossi was pipped from second by Bagnaia while Miller crashed at Turn 2 as he tried to lift himself back above the cut.

Andrea Iannone (Gresini Aprilia) did not partake in qualifying after a nasty crash in Free Practice 4 and will have further medical checks on race day.

In Moto2, Remy Gardner (ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team Kalex) qualified fourth.

Race start for the 25-lap MotoGP race is scheduled for Sunday night at 2200 AEST.

Qualifying: Spanish MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:36.880
2 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:36.962 0.082 / 0.082
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:36.970 0.090 / 0.008
4 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:37.018 0.138 / 0.048
5 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:37.114 0.234 / 0.096
6 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:37.175 0.295 / 0.061
7 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:37.209 0.329 / 0.034
8 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:37.332 0.452 / 0.123
9 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:37.351 0.471 / 0.019
10 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:37.384 0.504 / 0.033
11 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:37.496 0.616 / 0.112
12 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:37.514 0.634 / 0.018
13 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:37.371 Q1 / Q1
14 6 Stefan BRADL GER Team HRC Honda 1:37.406 Q1 / 0.035
15 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1:37.605 Q1 / 0.199
16 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:37.625 Q1 / 0.020
17 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:37.798 Q1 / 0.173
18 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:37.820 Q1 / 0.022
19 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Aprilia Factory Racing Aprilia 1:38.357 Q1 / 0.537
10 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:38.403 Q1 / 0.046
21 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:38.447 Q1 / 0.044
22 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:38.894 Q1 / 0.447
23 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:40.042 Q1 / 1.148
29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]