Late How crash hands Emery Aus GT victory

Sunday 5th May, 2019 - 4:02am


Geoff Emery heads Ryan how in the opening laps of Race 3

Geoff Emery won the final Australian GT race of the weekend in Barbagallo after Ryan How crashed out while leading on the penultimate lap.

Emery rose from third to first in the closing stages as first Peter Major struck trouble and then How suffered a failure that saw him end his race in the tyre bundle at Turn 7.

The Audi driver went on to win the race with ease from Max Twigg and Mark Griffith, with Emery also taking out the overall round win.

Race 2 winner Major had started from pole and darted into and early lead, but was unable to extend the gap he needed to cover off the chasing pack come the pit stops.

Emery had slotted into second with How third, the Audi duo running nose to tail for much of the opening stint.

Ryan How careered off the road at the final corner 

How’s shorter stop time saw the teenager emerge out front, though was quickly chased down by Major.

The pair then engaged in a tight battle for the lead, with How taking defensive lines and using traffic to his advantage.

A toe link failure on the front right corner of Major’s car on Lap 35 pitched the Western Australian off the road at Turn 4, and while he was eventually able to rejoin his race ended with a spin into the gravel two corners later.

With only a handful of minutes left in the 40-minute encounter race control elected not to deploy the Safety Car, and instead covered the incident under yellow flags.

Major’s exit left How with a sizeable advantage over Emery in second, who in turn had a more than three second advantage over Twigg in third.

However, when braking into the final corner at the end of the penultimate lap, How’s race came to an abrupt end when a failure in the front right saw him spear off the road and make heavy contact with the tyres.

It allowed Emery to take over as race leader for the final tour, winning his first race of the year over Twigg and Mark Griffith in third.

The result sees Twigg continue to lead the Australian GT Championship, though with a reduced margin of just eight points to Emery in second.

Phillip Island hosts the next round of the series, which switches into endurance mode, as part of the Shannons Nationals on June 7-8.

Result: Australian GT Round 2, Race 3

Pos Team Driver Car Class Laps Time
1 Valvoline Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS EVO CH 42 41:30.249
2 W M Waste Max Twigg Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 42 41:33.945
3 Nineteen Corporation P/L Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 42 41:37.357
4 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 42 41:38.496
5 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate Ryan Millier Lamborghini Huracan CH 42 41:43.162
6 Dale Paterson Motorsports Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro GT3 TR 41 41:40.201
7 Safe-T-Stop Richard Gartner Lamborghini Gallardo TR 41 41:54.965
8 Earth Electrical Contractors Nick Karnaros Porsche 911 GT3 Cup TC 39 41:38.049
9 Aaron Laboratories Joseph Ensabella Porsche 997 GT3 Cup TR 39 42:09.881
10 M Motorpsort J.McMillan/G.Wood Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4 39 42:10.980
11 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate Jim Manolios Lamborghini Super Tr TC 38 42:12.727
12 Vantage Freight / M Motorsport David Crampton Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4 36 41:45.630
DNF BTE Bulk Transport Equipment Ryan How Audi R8 LMS Ultra TR 40 39:25.002
DNF Totally 4X4 Wheels Peter Major Lamborghini Gallardo CH 34 33:59.077 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!