Stokell wins outright in Targa Tasmania for the first time

Saturday 4th May, 2019 - 6:30pm


Paul Stokell

Paul Stokell is now an outright winner at Targa Tasmania after taking out the 2019 event.

He and co-driver Kate Catford prevailed in the 28th running of the rally in their Lotus Exige, having assumed the lead on Day 4 after two days of drama.

Stokell is a three-time Australian Drivers’ Champion and two-time Nations Cup champion, and even won last year’s inaugural CAMS Australian Targa Championship.

However, this result stands as his first Targa event win, and the first for a Lotus in Targa Tasmania.

“I’ve always called Targa Tasmania the hardest event I’ve ever done,” said Stokell.

“It’s the most challenging and the most individual thing because you are out there on your own.

“The conditions we had… we went from icy roads that were so slippery that you could hardly stay on them to high grip, high speed stuff and you’ve got to adapt pretty quickly.

“To win a circuit racing championship you can never take it away but this means a lot.”

It was also a first outright win for Catford, who said, “This is very special and it has long been a dream of mine.

“Sometimes you think it’s an unrealistic dream so I’m really excited to win Targa Tasmania.

“In the wet conditions it took a lot of focus to get through safely. Paul really drew on all his experience in the wet.”

Angus Kennard and Ian Wheeler finished second outright at 2:51s back in a Nissan GTR, earning victory in the GT4 class.

Third outright and second in GT2 were Matt Close and Cameron Reeves in a Porsche GT3 RS, 4:24s behind Stokell.

Final results Provisional


1 Paul Stokell/Kate Catford (Lotus Exige 350)
2 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler (Nissan GTR R35) +2min51s
3 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves (Porsche GT3 RS +4min24s
4 Jeff Morton/Daymon Nicoli (2017 Lotus Exige) +6min01s
5 John Ireland/Janet Binns (Dodge Viper ACR Extreme) +6min16s
=6 Paul Dowie/James Marquet (Audi TT RS)  +8min38s
=6 Eddie Macguire/Michael Potter (Dodge Viper ACR) +8.38s

Dutton Garage GT2

1 Paul Stokell/Kate Catford (Lotus Exige 350)
2 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves (Porsche GT3 RS) +4min24s
3 Jeff Morton/Daymon Nicoli (2017 Lotus Exige) +6min01s

Classic Throttle Shop GT4

1 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler (Nissan GTR R35)
2 Paul Dowie/ James Marquet (Audi TT RS) +5min47s
3 Ben Newman/Andy Sarandis (Subaru Impreza WRX STI) +6min29s

Shannons Classic GT

1 Michael Bray/Daniel Bray (1975 Holden Torana)
2 Jon Siddins/Gina Siddins (1970 Datsun 240Z) +2min49s
3 Mick Downey/Nicholas Browne (1979 Holden Commodore VB) +10.14s

Shannons Classic

1 Nik Prieston/Dylan Braithwaite (1975 Fiat 131 Abarth Rallye)
2 Peter Gluskie/Samantha Winter (1985 BMW E30 325i) +2min40s
3 Peter Ulrich/Sari Ulrich (1964 Studebaker Avanti) +4min13s

Dutton Garage Early Modern

1 Guy Lilleyman/John Lilleyman (2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)
2 Adam Kaplan/Aleshia Penney (2004 BMW M3 CSL) +9min37s
3 Peter Roberts/Suzanne Atkins (1992 Nissan Skyline GTS) +13min39s

Country Club GT Sports Trophy

1 Steven Sher/Fergal Murphy (Lotus Exige)
2 Mitchell Ringuet/Darryl Ringuet (2017 Lotus Sport 350) +41s
3 Tony Seymour/Sandra Seymour (Lotus Exige Sport 350) +1.53s

Shannons Thoroughbred Trophy

1 Tyson Cowie/Celise Cowie (Ford Escort Mk1)
2 David Currow/Kit O’Donnell (1969 Fiat 124) +44min15s
3 Jim Kelly/Evan Kelly (1984 Audi quattro) +1hr22s.10s

Budget TSD Trophy

1 Darryl Marshall/Peter Marshall (2002 Ford Falcon Pursuit Ute) 31 pts
2 Peter Taylor/Tristan Taylor (2013 Lotus Elise S) 35 pts
3 Steve Brumby/Heather Brumby (1999 Alfa Romeo GTV) 99 pts

Spirit of Tasmania Rookie Rallye

1 Kristian Downing/Richard Woodman (Subaru WRX STI)
2 John Ralph/Mark Brooks (Subaru WRX STI) +10min17s
3 Darryl Carr/Sharon Carr (Ford Mustang Roush 727) +10mins25s comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!