Major beats Audis to Aus GT Race 2 win

Saturday 4th May, 2019 - 8:25pm


Peter Major

Peter Major took his Lamborghini to victory in Australian GT Race 2 at Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway after getting the better of Geoff Emery and Ryan How in the pit stops.

Emery swung around the outside of How off the front row into the first corner and moved into the lead at the start.

Major seized second and honed in on the back of Emery in the early stages, but eventually lost touch with the Audi.

The top five remained the same up until the compulsory pit stop (CPS) window, with Emery peeling off first.

Major, with a six-second shorter CPS time, emerged in front of Emery, while How snapped up second.

Following the pit stop sequence, Emery quickly closed up on How and breezed past on the run down to the final corner.

Max Twigg then began to catch the two Audi drivers in the final five minutes of the 40-minute race, but wasn’t able to get close enough for a shot.

Major crossed the line 13 seconds in front of Emery, followed by How, who was the best of the Trophy runners, Twigg and Peter Hackett in fifth.

Taking out the GT4 class was the Justin McMillan/Glen Wood-driven KTM X-Bow GT4, while Nick Karnaros finished on top in the Challenge class.

The final race for Round 2 of Australian GT gets underway at 2035 local time (2235 AEST).

Results: Australian GT, Race 2

Pos Team Driver Car Class Laps Race time
1 Totally 4X4 Wheels Peter Major Lamborghini Gallardo CH 43 42:11.0794
2 Valvoline Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS EVO CH 43 42:24.2387
3 BTE Bulk Transport Equipment Ryan How Audi R8 LMS Ultra TR 43 42:24.3648
4 W M Waste Max Twigg Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 43 42:30.1072
5 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 43 42:33.3123
6 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate Ryan Millier Lamborghini Huracan CH 43 42:40.9910
7 Nineteen Corporation P/L Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT3 CH 43 42:47.3746
8 Dale Paterson Motorsports Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro GT3 TR 42 42:40.8092
9 Safe-T-Stop Richard Gartner Lamborghini Gallardo TR 42 43:01.8292
10 Earth Electrical Contractors Nick Karnaros Porsche 911 GT3 Cup TC 41 43:10.8084
11 Aaron Laboratories Joseph Ensabella Porsche 997 GT3 Cup TR 40 42:40.2533
12 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate Jim Manolios Lamborghini Super Trofeo TC 40 43:03.3753
13 M Motorpsort Justin McMillan Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4 39 42:35.9039
14 Vantage Freight / M Motorsport David Crampton Reiter KTM X-Bow GT4 38 42:44.6185
DNF Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Porsche 997 GT3 R Cup TR  2  4:25.5164 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!