SUPERCARS FUTURE: Holden non-committal on 2021 motorsport season…CLICK HERE for the latest

Goddard on pole again for Super2 Race 2 at Barbagallo

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 4th May, 2019 - 4:15pm


Zane Goddard

Zane Goddard has doubled his tally of Armor All Pole Positions a day after taking his first ever in the Dunlop Super2 Series, at the Pirtek Perth SuperNight meeting.

Goddard set a 54.9154s in the #28 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima to usurp former series runner-up Ash Walsh by 0.0571s in Qualifying for Race 2 of Round 2, while Bryce Fullwood will start third for the second day in a row in the #16 MWM Altima.

Breakthrough Race 1 winner Will Brown, who had three runs at the previous day’s qualifying session, found no improvement on his second run and finished the 15-minute hit-out ninth fastest in the #38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore.

Goddard and Walsh (#35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) were the only two drivers to make the 54s, the former was over four tenths of a second slower than his Race 1 pole time, after earlier rain washed the Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway surface.

Kurt Kostecki (#55 Triple Eight VF Commodore) starts fourth, one position ahead of cousin Brodie Kostecki (#57 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore), who made an error at Turn 1 on his first green tyre lap but found a few more tenths on his next lap.

Dean Fiore (#54 VF Commodore) was Eggleston’s best in sixth, ahead of Jack Smith (#21 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore), the third of the MWM entries of rookie Tyler Everingham (#27 Altima), Brown, and Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore), the latter of whom suffered brake failure late in Race 1 when he fired off at Kolb Corner.

Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon) was first of the three Fords in the 19-car field in 11th position.

Another 26-lap race will conclude the second round of the season this evening from 1715 local time/1915 AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 0:54.9154  
2 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9725 0:00.0571
3 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 0:55.0443 0:00.1289
4 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0612 0:00.1458
5 57 Team Arcoweld Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:55.1365 0:00.2211
6 54 Eggleston Motorsport Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:55.1484 0:00.2330
7 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2028 0:00.2874
8 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 0:55.2122 0:00.2968
9 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2292 0:00.3138
10 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2578 0:00.3424
11 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.3049 0:00.3895
12 56 Team Arcoweld Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3284 0:00.4130
13 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3405 0:00.4251
14 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 0:55.4765 0:00.5611
15 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 0:55.5042 0:00.5888
16 99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 0:55.5844 0:00.6690
17 47 Osborn’s Transport Joel Heinrich Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.6941 0:00.7787
18 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7343 0:00.8189
19 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 1:24.2519 0:29.3365 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!